4.6/5 Excellent
959 reviews
Amenities
4.7/5
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.7/5
Condition
4.8/5
Neighborhood
4.6/5
Service
4.6/5
Recommendation
82.4/100

Most Recent Reviews

5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Victoria
11/25/2023
Amazing resort for a girls’ weekend or a family getaway.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Daniela
11/23/2023
Great
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Kathy
11/19/2023
Great service!!!
From the moment I checked in, the service was very impressive. Nice people who really seemed to care. Eva in room service was lovely and Sergey at the pool bar both really made and effort and helped make the experience amazing ! Looking forward to going back soon!!! Front desk people were very friendly also.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Samantha
11/19/2023
Very clean! Staff wa a great, room was amazing, and everyone was so friendly with our pup!
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Reagan
11/04/2023
The food is lackluster at best and extremely expensive. The beach is quite a ways away. You have to leave the property and cross the street to get there. The cocktails were not good for a very small amount you’re charged 15$ each. The vallet guys were extremely nice.. the room was nice. Front desk was just ok. Dirty glasses setting around by the elevator for 3 days until I mentioned it. For the price you pay I just expected better.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Daniel
10/30/2023
Had a great time, would go again.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jasir
10/29/2023
Beautiful definitely coming back
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
DANIEL
10/22/2023
This place treats you like royalty
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Lisa
10/19/2023
Good
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Albert
10/16/2023
King room with premium view had excellent views of the pool and ocean. Room was large and well appointed. Rooftop bar at sunset is a must.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Dennis
10/14/2023
It was a nice place
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Frances
10/12/2023
Clean and well maintained. Spacious rooms, really pretty.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Trisha
10/10/2023
Beautiful property. Pool areas were wonderful. Beach access not far. Will stay again!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Sandra A
09/26/2023
Still a nice hotel
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
sheila
09/25/2023
The property is beautiful,however the resort fees and 35.00 daily parking are ridiculous. You pay dearly to stay here then pay additional fees for everything. They had one working elevator in a building with 4 floors. If you are going to charge outrageous and bogus fees,the place should be completely operational.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Zachary
09/19/2023
Nice property
The clarity of the process at check in was disappointing. The chairs at the beach have to booked ahead of time- which we didn’t know until we got to the beach and then had to sit in the back. They said we have access to the beach cafe on the beach but that’s only during certain hours. The pools were really nice. Overall it was fine - not great, but the hotel is definitely over hyped.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Wayne
09/17/2023
Very nice place! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Andrew
09/14/2023
Very clean. Close to beach. Nice pools.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
09/12/2023
34th anniversary
Amazing resort with so much to offer!
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Peter
09/02/2023
First time in Destin
Nice resort, friendly check in service, comfortable spacious room, nice bathroom, large tub with shutter style door to open. Nice balcony with view of gulf and preserve. Pools are nice just odd the adult pool doesn’t have a bar you have to wait for server or go items yourself. Restaurants are nice, a little pricey but friendly service, Nick at the Horizons restaurant/bar was very nice. The resort fee and parking fees seem extremely high.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Sharon
08/25/2023
Much needed quiet time after family trip to Disney. The Henderson was great. The beach was amazing every day. The kids loved the lazy river. The food was great. We were able to eat at the nearby Henderson Inn and also eat locally.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Frederick
08/13/2023
Perfect location and phenomenal hotel!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Eric
08/11/2023
Great all around!!
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Laura
08/09/2023
I was disappointed when I asked staff twice to deal with very very inappropriate behavior at the adult pool. No result.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Ernesto
07/31/2023
This is the best beach resort to stay in Destin.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Christopher
07/31/2023
We stayed 4 nights and loved the quality of everything thing they did at the resort. It was very clean and the staff were all friendly. We felt very safe walking around the property at night.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
James
07/29/2023
The Henderson is a great place to stay! Private beach access, pools were excellent and the food was amazing. Definitely recommend staying here!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Sandra
07/26/2023
It was wonderful, so convenient. Pools/Beach and food. No need to drive anywhere, all in/around the hotel. Definitely a repeat.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Gheorghe
07/24/2023
Very nice hotel for family with kids, we will came back
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Chris
07/15/2023
Pet Friendly?????
Advertised as pet friendly. But my 8 lb dog was not allowed on beach, or pool area. Only allowed in room attended. So if staying in your hotel room with your dog is your idea of a beach vacation this is your place.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Mario Hector
07/12/2023
Location was great
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Ernesto
07/12/2023
Excellent family experience at such a well maintained and attended place
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jamie
07/06/2023
This was the first time we stayed at the Henderson Resort. It is absolutely beautiful, amazing the amenities are just spectacular. The rooms are so beautiful and very clean. The staff is amazing. All around fantastic we will be back again.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Travis
07/02/2023
Beautiful facility, EXCELLENT service, great accommodations and delicious meals.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Joe
07/01/2023
Top notch resort. We will be back! Plenty to do for the kids. Excellent food. Friendly staff. Just a perfect stay.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Albert
06/30/2023
Calm and quiet
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jonathanel
06/22/2023
We decided to go to Destin last min for our anniversary. No plans, packed up and left. I researched hotels when we were almost to Destin and I chose this gorgeous hotel. I loved the feeling I got just walking in. I loved the room & claw foot tub, private balcony and private beach. I wouldn't stop smiling! The staff was so friendly. My hubby is battling stage 4 cancer and he was so comfortable. This will be our place every time we come to Destin. Perfect. Thank you so much!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Erika
06/21/2023
Beautiful property! We will stay here again. They’re pet friendly and walking distance to the beach. They have 3 great pools. Food by the pools isn’t great but the restaurant in the hotel is awesome.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Ellen
06/20/2023
First time to Destin, I am so glad I choose The Henderson Beach Resort & Spa. I had an incredible stay at the Resort with the beatuiful room, my view and the helpful front staff. Maintenance issues were quickly addressed and fix to satisfaction. The balcony door censor for being close and activing the air conditioning to be on. Fixed and back to a nice cool room. Covid-19 changed how room cleaning is handled and wished it was clearer how to request. Didn't know till checking out the the front desk needed to be informed. Spoke with a housekeeping and thought it would be done.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Noreen
06/20/2023
The only issue we had was that we had a lot of trouble with the outlets in our room not functioning properly. Other than that the services play food is great and the gym there is the best fitness center I’ve ever been in a hotel.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Lenajah
06/19/2023
Such a beautiful and amazing resort. We enjoyed everything, the rooms were so clean and cozy. Will definitely be returning.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
06/14/2023
Great Resort
Awesome place for a family getaway. Very nice facilities, great staff, beautiful beach and pools. Only issue is they charge more for self-parking than you will pay in downtown Destin. At this price point, parking should be free for at least one car.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Jeanne
06/13/2023
This was our 4th time staying at The Henderson, but unfortunately it's not the same standard of service it was during our previous trips. We were disappointed. Two of the days our room didn't even get housekeeping (even after I specifically requested it) and I had to call down for towels since those did not get delivered either. Then they did not deliver any complimentary water bottles so I walked to the front desk and got them myself. We went to our "outside reservation" at Primrose and they sat us inside and said, "Sorry we overbooked the terrace." We ate at Horizons one night and the service was not good at all. I brought all of this to the attention of the manager upon checkout and she said, "Sorry about all of that. I hope you'll give us another chance." It is definitely not the top notch resort it was in the past.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Krystal
06/13/2023
The air conditioning didn’t work properly the whole trip and they never can to my room to fix the phone, we had to ask them to clean our room and get towels everyday. Not the house keeping just doing it like they are supposed to
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Danette
06/10/2023
This is a beautiful relaxing place with alot to see and do. We will definitely be visiting it again and highly recommended to friends and family.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Deborah
06/05/2023
VERY NICE!!
It was our first time staying at this resort and it was very NICE!! Beautiful rooms,.great hospitality. We ENJOYED it!!
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Hannah
06/03/2023
It was way over priced and alot of extra charges!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Tyler
06/01/2023
Beautiful, quiet, clean property. The staff was all around fantastic, helpful, friendly but not overly attentive to the point of feeling uncomfortable. The beach here is stellar- and having a private beach makes the trip far more enjoyable than pretending as though one would be able to find parking at a public beach. Adorable kid’s activities (no children for us) but the consideration put into kids events shows. 10/10 recommend
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Gary
05/31/2023
Everything was fine. Especially enjoyed the gym equipment choices ar the property.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Gabriela
05/27/2023
The resort was amazing!! Friendly staff and wonderful location. Amenities were wonderful and restaurants were super! 😎❤️
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Julie
05/22/2023
Very beautiful property with great pools
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Kristin
05/15/2023
Beautiful resort with friendly and helpful staff.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
William
05/03/2023
Beautiful property Terrible food and beverage Employees are uninformed The rooms are nice, but the resort itself needs a lot of improvement We will not return
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Margaret
04/25/2023
Was there for a family wedding loved every moment of it
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Hsrman
04/19/2023
Did not stay long enough for me to answer all questions
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Brad
04/17/2023
The private beach that is very close is so nice to be able to just walk.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Joanne
04/16/2023
Very nice hotel Nice surroundings and a very peaceful area. The hotel restaurant food was just ok
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Geraldann
04/16/2023
We spent a week at the Henderson. The rooms are very clean The staff was wonderful!! The resort all around is gorgeous. I will absolutely be returning
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
marla
04/08/2023
We are repeat guests at The Henderson. Our last visit in 2019 was exceptional. This visit was not. The professionalism of staff and services (Spa in particular) have deteriorated over the past four years. The room was clean (ish), but only if you didn’t look closely. The food and drinks were overpriced - which I would have been okay with if the quality had been there… but it wasn’t. Mediocre at best. Same for spa services and spa facility - both have declined. I recommend skipping the spa altogether. There was, overall, a marked lapse in the southern hospitality and quality for which The Henderson has been known in the past. We likely won’t return.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Tiffany
04/07/2023
Property was beautiful. Misleading as it is NOT directly on the beach. It’s very loud, between builders, landscaping, helicopters, and planes. Food is adequate but very over priced. Primrose breakfast…wonderful; sea level lunch..good; horizons was ok. Beach walk. Cafe. Was incredible. Soliel down the street was better, food choices and prices, and directly on the beach
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Ivan
03/29/2023
Great resort. Professional service with polite people
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Leah
03/15/2023
Beautiful property and accommodations within walking distance of the beach, several dining options, and activities. Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful stay!
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Marsha
03/13/2023
Family Fun with the grand kids.
Beautiful, friendly, clean - only disappointment was a longer walk to the beach than expected and no ocean view - we had construction view. Nice pools and hot tub made up for it.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Diane
03/12/2023
The staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The pool, spa and beach are well maintained and luxurious. I will visit again!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Shalini
03/10/2023
It was a perfect resort with the right restaurants and a private beach. The amenities were great and catered to all ages.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Patrick
02/27/2023
Unexpected luxury
I didn’t know anything about this place when I booked it so I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel appears to be pretty new and was very clean and beautiful. The pools were great and all heated. There is a separate adult pool. The run-of-the-house room was larger than average and much nicer than expected. There is a little patio as well. The only thing that was a little deceiving is that the property is not right on the beach as some of the photos would suggest. It’s a short walk to the beach, however. The property is also right next to Henderson Beach State Park, which is really nice because it feels a bit less crowded. Your room key afford you access to the state park And they have beach chairs and umbrellas out on the beach as well. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Destin.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Jim
02/21/2023
OK
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
02/20/2023
Weekend getaway
Beautiful property and pet friendly super friendly staff we will definitely be back!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Ernie
02/18/2023
Property was immaculate. Employees very professional and friendly and empowered to be of assistance. Very pleasant stay!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Nicole
01/22/2023
It’s very welcoming and calming at the Henderson Beach and Spa Resort during off peak season. The heated pools with fountains as a feature is very soothing. The rooftop has a spectacular view of the ocean and sun set. It’s a warm felt area for social interactions. The beach is serene and a very meditative environment. The room is very cozy and comfortable and my favorite experiences of my room is the Kholer cast iron soaking bath and the private outdoor living space.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Morgann
01/19/2023
Wonderful- even in the off season!
Staff is wonderful, pool is beautiful, and the private beach access is amazing! Theres a short walk to the beach, but the staff showed me how to cut through the pool area. Room was spacious and clean.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Emily
01/02/2023
The good: the staff was very friendly, the hotel is beautiful, clean and decorated well for the holidays, the food at Primrose and Horizon were very good. We enjoyed using the free bikes to explore the area. Our kids liked the games set up in the ballroom. The not so good: the area around the resort is under construction. We were not notified beforehand and it impacted access and parking. Everyone had to use valet parking. In a city setting, this would not be as frustrating. At this location, we found it confining since nothing is within walking distance. We arrived for check-in a few minutes after 10pm due to our flight schedule. We were hoping there would be an on-site option to grab a drink and snack, but we were told everything on-site closed at 10pm. There wasn’t even a convenient store nearby and our car was already parked by valet. Our room was comfortable, but we found ants crawling up the walls and in the bathroom. Also, the bedding was comfortable but the sheets were really loud. I know that sounds odd, but we were traveling as a family of four and all of us noticed that we were awoken each time someone in the room turned in bed because the sheets were noisy.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
H Sean
12/31/2022
The property is beautiful. Nice rooms, clean, convenient to everything including the beach. Great food options on property.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Jonathan
12/17/2022
Ok for what it is ..
It was nice.. not the nicest resort experience but ok for what we were looking for… Truth be told I knew going in that destin is more of a place where you book a rental house rather than stay at a resort. It just verified what I already knew. Not bad just not what you are looking for on a family vacation . Hotel could use a room renovation overhaul. Felt like it was decorated in the late 80’s early 90’s beach decor .
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Andrea
12/14/2022
Everything was great. Except for having to change rooms at check-in because the room I was given was dirty. The second one was better. However, it was still not as clean as I expected it to be (based on the online ratings).
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Dr Ellen
11/30/2022
The property was beautiful as I expected. However, the daily charge for the beach was a surprised especially since it is a public beach.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Gena
11/27/2022
Disappointed
My stay was good with the exception of the major differences in the quantity of the food at Primrose and sea level which was absolutely horrible...I tried twice(breakfast/dinner) both time was equally BAD, the food was flavorless, the description depicted on the menu did not apply to what was serve on my plate....I was promised a refund which didn't happen..I've had the pleasure of vacating Henderson Salamander Beach Resort since 2017 I've made it's my business to travel at lest twice a year....I can say emphatically I will not return. Lack of help should not be and excuse for standards which was not met
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Richard
11/26/2022
Peaceful beautiful resort with beach access and a lazy river pool
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Terri
11/15/2022
This property is beautiful, and in a great location. The pools are beautiful. It is right across from the beach. Just walk through the gate and across the small street, and they have a private beach. The lazy river is fun for adults and children. The only negative is that you have to rent their beach chairs and umbrella they do not supply them. You have to pay for parking. They have a daily resort fee on top of your room, and the food is just ok. I would go back because the resort itself is worth it. The rooms were nice, and clean, beds were comfortable. They have a ver y nice gym, and the views are amazing.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
AL
11/11/2022
Best place and professional people, beautiful hote
Thank you all for using your talents and skills to provide hospitality services of the highest quality to us. Because of you, we have the confidence to embark on trips to the strangest of lands knowing that you’ll be there to make us feel at home. Thank you for the good work. Please keep it up. Five star service
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
JONATHAN
11/02/2022
Service was excellent. All amenities were great. Food and drinks were overly priced compared to the market.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Alex
10/27/2022
Beautiful property on the beach with plenty of dining options. Great pool as well! We will be back!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Julie Ann
10/21/2022
We felt pampered, the staff were friendly and helpful. The bikes were easy to sign up for and included with the stay. The spa is tremendous and worth trying a treatment. Overall, it exceeded our expectations.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Aimee
10/16/2022
This resort is beautiful! I visited the spa and blown away by the amazing service. We also dined at The Primrose and the food was delicious. Our room was perfect and we were very pleased with our add ons.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Todd
10/15/2022
Go to the Hilton instead.
It took three hours to check-in and that is ridiculous. Started out our stay terrible and it was our Anniversary and Birthday celebrations. One person at the desk liked to argue over our reservation opposed to trying to help us. When you are paying these prices to stay in nice places, you do not want to be argued with. 99% of the staff was awesome and very helpful but was tainted by a bad attitude when all we wanted to do was check in. I am glad we are moving out to the San Destin Hilton for the rest of our stay in Destin. We thought we would try something new on this trip by staying at the Henderson, but never again.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
elisabeth
10/10/2022
The hotel itself was wonderful but we wanted to pamper ourselves a few times with room service and no one ever answered the phone. Very disappointing.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Jason
09/27/2022
Liked the location, food was not good
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Wayne
09/16/2022
Just about the best place to stay....
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Anthony James
09/15/2022
Nice staff, beautiful place. Hidden fees like parking in a pond for $15 a night. Alcoholic drink costs through the roof and food is good but way overpriced. Long walk to the beach to be considered oceanfront. For the price you pay it should be all inclusive except for drinks. To many resort fees and taxes. Won’t be back most likely.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Justin
09/11/2022
It was not worth what you get. Extremely over priced. I will most definitely be staying elsewhere next time I travel.
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
rachel
09/05/2022
The photos are misleading. This resort is not "ON" the beach as we were told by a concierge on the phone before choosing Henderson.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
wayne
09/05/2022
There were construction next to the property. When we got into the family pool it was bugs and baby spit up floating around. Other than that the property was very comfortable.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
DEBORAH DENISE
08/31/2022
Beautiful and clean! My two requirements were more than fulfilled. I will be going back again MHW!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Chase
08/22/2022
This place was awesome! Best of the best for Destin. I truly enjoyed every second of being here. Super clean, great service!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Danielle
08/17/2022
The hotel was beautiful, very clean and welcoming.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Tommy
08/14/2022
We stayed one night only so did not get to see much. Beautiful property w comfortable rooms
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Jeanne
08/14/2022
Didn’t meet expectations
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Lindsey
08/13/2022
The property was beautiful. Our room wasn’t very clean. There was hair in the shower upon our arrival and hair pins on the floor. The property doesn’t have recycling receptacles which is much needed with all of the plastic being used on property. The building is beautiful and the staff is friendly.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Alicia
08/13/2022
Amazing stay…very luxurious. Spa was incredible. Restaurant excellent service and food. Not a single complaint
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Robert
08/12/2022
4 stars - yes. 5 stars = ?
This a pretty good property. Elevators are pretty fast. Food is pretty good. Room is very clean but not very big in relation to the price. Had to request sheets for the pull out bed. They were delivered reasonably quickly and just handed to us. We had to make the bed ourselves. Pools and beach facility excellent. Only real problem we had was the availability of taxis. The taxi services the hotel normally uses were all booked solid. Fortunately, we found another person, Susie Q, who runs and independent service and she turned out to be a trip saver. She got us everywhere we wanted to go during the weekend. Overall, a good property, though we would hesitate to give the 5th star which they seem to have given themselves.