2.2/5
75 reviews
Amenities
1.9/5
Cleanliness
2.4/5
Comfort
2/5
Condition
2/5
Service
2.6/5

Most Recent Reviews

2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Maria
09/26/2023
Antique design. Old designs.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Jennifer
08/08/2023
When they say you get what you pay for “they” never stayed here! I’m sure prices were high because we stayed the night of the George Strait concert but we pay 190$ for one night and the lady that gave us our key says “if you smoke it is a 200$ fee” so I’m thinking they care about their property, wrong! We open the door and it is nasty carpet with what looks like a huge burn spot like it had caught on fire and a rusty “countertop “ and two beds. The beds themselves looked like they were from the 70s and the sheets and pillow cases were dingy. I pulled the sheets back and there was black hair on the pillow case as well as the sheet. Lucky for me we brought our own pillows and blankets so we were able to use those instead of the ones that were there.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
gary
08/08/2023
Needs some basic cosmetic work. Needs paint. Sign needs updating. Friendly staff. Clean room. Lighted parking lot so it’s safe at night pulling in.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Jessica
08/06/2023
The room was full of cockroaches everywhere. Mold and dead bugs. We had to leave. The most disgusting room I have ever seen.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Reynier
07/27/2023
No recommend that property
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Erin
05/23/2023
Cheap and close to the stadium. But gross, bathroom stank with no air, sink barely trickled water, dirty, cockroaches, toilet hardly flushed. Pictures are NOT the place.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Herson
04/17/2023
Do a favor to yourself and DO NOT STAY IN THIS PROPERTY!! 1- bathroom curtain has mold 2- toilet was not working 3- the bathroom drain was clogged 4- the nastiest thing was look all those cockroaches around the room
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Marina
04/16/2023
This was prob the worst place I’ve ever stayed, and I know is a Motel, very dirty, unkept, smelly and felt very insecure, there’s no chain or inside lock. Hotels.com shouldn’t offer this place
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Sevinch
04/15/2023
Horrible place to stya
Everything was horrible. I went there for Taylor Swift concert and thanks for giving me worst place to stay. Everything was awful. And they don't refund at all. And I paid more than $300 which does not deserve any penny of it. Sheets were dirty and I saw hair in the bathroom and room smelled awful I couldn't sleep at all. I don't recommend anyone. The worst place that you can stay. And the place is not as shown as in the picture. Please and please do not ever stay that hotel
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
marcela
04/14/2023
Dirty Uncomfortable Falling apart
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Robert
04/03/2023
No cleaning
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Claudio
03/05/2023
clean room
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
fred
03/02/2023
It was ok for a 1 night stay by the airport. About what you would expect out of a cheap motel
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Carlos
02/14/2023
This place does not cooperate with claim report for damages done to a rental car that was hit by another guest and runs out. They refuse to give the camera video and when police arrives they do not show rhe video where the license plate could be seen. This hotel is not safe.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Justin
12/09/2022
The rooms were absolutely disgusting. The odor and condition of the rooms were extremely disappointing. I checked in and immediately checked out. I was not given a refund either. Horrible place should be condemned
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Peter
09/03/2022
Old worn out hotel. Too many roaches
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Thomas
08/08/2022
Liked: Convenient to U-Haul Office needed for trailer return only. Disliked: Everything else. Picture is comical contrast to real room.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
06/28/2022
Terrible
Just
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
nicole
05/31/2022
This place needs a lot of work. It was very dirty and there were holes in the walls. We had a giant roach in the bathtub and the AC didn't work well. We had low expectations to begin with, but the price was way too high for the quality of the room.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Brian
05/25/2022
We couldn’t even check in to this property. The staff was rude and unaccommodating to our needs. We had reserved the Sunnyside Motel for two nights. We couldn’t check in the first night because we arrived pretty late which was understandable, but when we tried checking in the following morning we were still told we were “too early” to check in. Me and my partner were forced to sleep in our car because we couldn’t afford to stay anywhere else, wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Jenna
05/17/2022
Was disappointed very much so with this location. I know we were just staying there for a less than 12 hours but there was only one outlet in the whole room, not even one in the bathroom. The bed didn’t even have a fitted sheet, only two pillows that were flat, a old lollipop stick under the bed and there was a cockroach in the bathroom. The outside of the property was okay but location wasn’t the best. There wasn’t much to eat close by and we when walked to the gas station down the street the customer service was one of the worst I’ve ever experienced. I love Tampa, Florida but I will never come close to this area again.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Michael
04/25/2022
Barrows wouldn’t recommend this place to a enemy
One of the most disgusting places I’ve ever stayed in
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Tatiana
04/21/2022
It was a lot cheaper then surrounding hotels at the time, so I picked it. Everything was ok, but there was a cockroach inside the room…. I saw it in the middle of the night :/
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Jose
04/16/2022
Is not nice
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
MARCELLUS
04/10/2022
This place is not the Taj Mahal if you’re looking just for a place for tonight like we were because we were going out the next morning to our Cruise this is the place for you.I’m telling you right now they don’t answer the phone I’ve called them four separate times and every time the phone just rings and then it goes to voicemail and the voicemail is completely full so if you have any questions they won’t answer the phone.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Francisco
04/09/2022
Disgusting. Roaches and stains everywhere. Shower didn't even drain properly. 2 seconds walking barefoot on their floor left our feet black.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Edward
04/07/2022
DON'T STAY HERE
Dirty room. Drain in shower had no cover attached to floor. No hangers in closet. Poor lighting in room. curtains falling off the rod. buttons missing off of A/C unit. The wifi was on and off again. only two plugins for charging units.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Marlon
03/21/2022
Cheap place but expensive for what you get.
I traveled alone to Tampa and decided to save on the only night I would sleep there, for the price it was the cheapest place around, but the hotel is old and seems to have no maintenance, making it look poor. For men traveling alone and looking to save money, it seems to be a good option. Women traveling alone may feel insecure or uncomfortable with the general conditions of the place. But if you are traveling with your girlfriend or family (especially with kids) don't stay at this place!
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Amelia
03/16/2022
I don’t think the bed sheets were changed. I checked in at a little hole at the door. Ugh! Innkeeper is from India. Nothing against them. Poor service. I have nothing against them. The bed is nicely made but the bed sheets are dirty. I paid cheap price but we want the bed linen to be clean. The park with 1-2 miles is awesome.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Mary
03/13/2022
A rip off
It was a dump. Walked in and turned around and walked out.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Vincent
03/08/2022
Relatively inexpensive clndition of property matches the cost, however it was clean and safe.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Heiner Chaves
02/05/2022
Un lugar muy tranquilo. Las instalaciones son muy viejas y están faltas de mantenimiento.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Chris
01/19/2022
Absolutely disgusting left a night early and slept like one hour roaches in my room, was itchy the whole night and I would never go here again I wouldn’t even recommend this place to my worst enemy.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
John J Hebert
01/15/2022
ok
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Manuel
01/12/2022
The place is run down hole in the wall. Needs professional improvement not just DYI. Ceiling tiles bundling with mole stains and the roaches.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Roxanne
01/10/2022
Unsatisfied
Bed not comfortable, lights kept flickering, bathroom door didn’t lock or even close properly, no outlet in bathroom, no easy access to outlets to plug in phone charger, so had to pull out bed & unplug flickering lamp.
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Jaime O
11/24/2021
Isn't a good place
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
11/21/2021
So-so stay
AC worked well. Refrigerator worked well and freezer area was clear which was good as there was no ice machine. Did not use microwave. Wifi was spotty. Water pressure was weak. Hot water only got lukewarm. Shower did not drain well; had water up to my ankles when showering and had to wash my feet separately. Staff tried to clear it by pouring drain cleaner but it did not work. Room was small and did not have many power outlets. TV only had air broadcast channels. Good parking. Convenient area.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Laura
10/30/2021
I totally understand a cheap rate means a humble room but it never means disgusting, filthy, dirty. We slept with our clothes on to avoid touching the sheets. I rather sleep out in the wilderness than go back to this place. I highly recommend this place if you’re a raccoon without shelter.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Marc
10/26/2021
To start off, the motel is next to a strip club. I arrive and ring the buzzer to check in and get my key. No one answers so I ring the bell again. A man not wearing a shirt appears and angrily waves for me to leave as if I was disturbing his sleep. I left as I felt unsafe and found another place to stay. In short, I paid money but when I showed up I was not given a room.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Larry
10/19/2021
This place is a holdover from the 1950s. Tiny rooms and dirty looking. I never even checked in.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Carlos
09/07/2021
They are really irresponsable, i never stayed at the motel even after i payed, because they were dirty AND rude. They did not refund my money The room had blood. AND a lots of rust... Hairs all over. I never received refund AND since they were rude i never asked them for my money because they intimidated me..
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
08/20/2021
Happy Wanderer
Clean and comfortable motel as advertised but airconditioner was a huge distraction. A/C unit was very loud and vibrations were felt throughout the room. Great location.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Jose
08/18/2021
Bad 👎 👃 👎
horrible, dirty, the bathroom the shower the water did not go down .. hair in the wash hands. the air conditioning did not work well it was old. for the price it is not worth them.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
08/06/2021
It was 9 minutes from the airport, so a great place to stay. It was nice for the amount of money they charge, but not your 4 star hotel. Comfortable bed, hot shower with plenty of water pressure. If I had to stay here again, I would for the same price.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
07/27/2021
The place has roaches really bad and the tv service goes in an out of service.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
06/02/2021
Hi my name is Elizabeth, I checked in sunny south motel on Friday the 29th of May. I wasn’t at the motel most of the day. Then we came back at night time. When we were getting ready to go bed. During middle of the night I felt something was biting me. I started itching around my legs. Came to find out that there was bedbugs on the bed.. we had to leave around 3am to go to my parents house because that was the closest one around the hotel. I was unable to stay in that motel because I couldn’t stop itching and it was biting me everywhere. I have pictures to prove it to you. I asked the front office for a refund. And he refused to give a refund because I already checked in. He was telling me he already gave me refund when he charged me twice and only gave me one refund and was unable to get another refund. I noticed that the sheets were dirty then I left in the middle of the night . Then came back to our motel to check out stuff if we didn’t forget anything. It was already cleaned by someone and the sheet were still the same even the pillow sheets.. the outlets that we were trying to charge didn’t even work. The TV didn’t even work too. We had to charge our phones in our car..
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
05/18/2021
100% Recommend
One of the most clean motels I've ever been to! Great staff, I couldn't have been happier!
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
05/10/2021
This property is unfit for anyone to stay at. I pulled up to a dirty place. There was literally a drug deal going down in their empty lot (since no one was staying there). YOu cannot access the lobby as there is a sliding window on the front door as you would see in a convenience store in a bad area. I asked the young lady working there, through the glass, if it was safe to stay here and she said no. She then got reprimanded by an older women in the back. If you value your life do not stay here. Expedia should be ashamed of itself for having this place on their site.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
David
04/14/2021
Adequate accommodations
Staff was available and helpful. Room was clean. The staff were able to provide extra materials when asked. It’s at a great central location in Tampa and close to everything that is happening. Will definitely use them again for my next solo business trip.