4/5 Good
563 reviews
Amenities
3.9/5
Cleanliness
4.2/5
Comfort
4.3/5
Condition
4.1/5
Neighborhood
4.4/5
Service
4.2/5
Recommendation
92.8/100

Most Recent Reviews

5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
SEAN
01/14/2024
Nice rooms clean and a small arcade. Everyone was friendly.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Kurtis
01/06/2024
Best value in Cape Girardeau
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Alpha
01/02/2024
I liked the pool and fitness room. The room was clean, but was in need of inspection.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Donna
01/02/2024
Extended stay
Was a clean, friendly, place to stay. We stayed 8 days. Very quiet and comfy. Loved the kitchenette. Need to replace some of the pans. Would of liked an oven. It saved us from eating out all the time. Great place for long stays. Awesome crew of workers.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Latosha
01/02/2024
Okay so the biggest issue i had was having a $250 deposit because im a local as opposed to someone out of town with a $10 one. The a.c. only sorta worked and our bathtub had patch tape in it and the bottom looked like it could use a deep scrub. Also in a building that size there should be atleast 1 ice maker. It took forever for the refrigerator to make ice. And no breakfast included for the price. They do have some kind of room that u can buy stuff from though. All the staff was super friendly especially Dorothy and the main areas where clean.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Sharon
01/01/2024
Had a really great stay! They had everything I wanted for a good price.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Rebecca
12/26/2023
Vacay at Xmas
Awesome staff and clean. Best hotel weve stayed at in cape girardeau
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Gregory
12/18/2023
The property was nice but I stayed in a handicapped room and the shower dripped and the toilet rocked a little. Minor things but should be fixed by maintenance.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Romona
12/15/2023
My stay was wonderful!
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
sharon
11/27/2023
We booked a double queen and had our pup with us. Expedia doesn't give the option to tell that we had our dog staying with us. Apparently, Candlewood Suites puts all dog owners on the first floor. They had no double queens available so we had to take a single king. We wanted an upper floor as we don't appreciate the noise from above. Unfortunately, there must have been a younger child's slumber party that was unsupervised right above us because the pounding and stomping went on for hours, we complained once by phone, then to the desk, they said they would remove the guests if we had another complaint, we couldn't move because all rooms for dogs owners were booked. So we decided to pack up and leave at 10:30 pm on the first night and they refused a refund. I am going to demand a refund. They could have moved the guests above us to another room as when I checked in the person at the front desk told me the hotel was less than half full. I will never recommend this hotel. Also, the highway noise was very loud on the first floor.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Timothy
11/25/2023
Quiet large rooms, great bedding and TV. Best shower I've had in a hotel in a long time. Great kitchenette and large bathroom. Sink drain was plugged but immediately tended to and resolved. No breakfast but you can prepare yourself or many options close by. No complaints and probably will stay here again when visiting.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Christina
10/18/2023
Staff were polite and respectful and always ready to assist. Brandie at the front desk was absolutely amazing!! Would definitely recommend and stay again. Only fallback is they don’t offer breakfast but there are plenty of options around.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Danell
10/15/2023
I liked that the room was clean and comfortable
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Ole
10/11/2023
Drive from New Orleans to Chicago along 55 with the family a few times a year. We try to find ourselves a hotel for the half way mark. I was expecting breakfast, but the hotel made up for it with a large fridge and cooking area. For the price and how it looked comparatively - I would definitely consider staying here again.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Debbie
09/18/2023
There was an empty beer can under the bed in our room. The coffee maker in common area was broke. Selection of items for breakfast was a joke
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
09/17/2023
We called to see about possible early check in than 4pm, and was told No before we could get sentence out. Also, no coffee available in room or in lobby. Yet a sign is posted in elevator saying they offer complimentary coffee.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Ireka
09/06/2023
We checked in and was told one room number and given the key to that room, went to open the door and there was a guy in there already yelling why are you trying to enter my room. We were given the wrong key and could’ve been shot by the person in that room thinking we were trying to break in on them. It was a very dangerous and scary situation. Other than that once we got the correct everything else was fine.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Caroline
09/04/2023
I liked everything, it was overall a great experience
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Paul
08/28/2023
Had tp onload baggage in the rain. No portico covering front entrance to pull car under. Dark front entrance.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Scott
08/12/2023
Loved the free laundry! Room was super clean and comfort.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Nicole
07/15/2023
The lady behind the counter on our second night was no where to be found on multiple occasions. We needed towels, she was not there, we had a question at another point and no answer on the phone and was not at the desk when I went all the way back down. No towels in the pool area that night either. The young lady on the first night was there when we needed her and eager to help.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jean
06/13/2023
Our room is spacious, clean and comfortable.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Sara
06/07/2023
Charged me a fee for service dog
They charged me after checkout for pet fee for my service dog.I told front desk I had her with me and she was 7#. And she put me on the 2nd floor. Called to dispute and they said I needed to send them paperwork she is a service dog 😡 this charges caused and overdraft
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Deloris
06/01/2023
Bring a generator! SERIOUSLY! We had to trip the breaker every hour for electricity. Booked through Expedia. I think they reserve that room just for 3rd party bookings.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Diane
05/27/2023
Great facility and comfortable rooms
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Chad
05/21/2023
Great stay, great people.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
LaVonda
05/16/2023
Don’t stay here! Below is the message that I sent to the general manager and was never contacted directed. I only received an auto response apologizing for the teams service. I left you a message regarding my recent stay at the Candlewood Suites, but I have yet to hear back from you. I stayed at the Candlewood May 6th -7th. Initially I booked a suite but had to get downgraded because of the continuous issues. I couldn’t get into the room that I booked. After trying multiple times, I went back to the front desk to get a different Key. I tried the new key but still was unable to get into my room. I had to go back to the front desk and was then assigned another room. The key card provided to the new room wouldn’t open that room door either. The receptionists at the front desk then gave me a master key. I was advised not lose the key. I had to keep up with a door for my hotel room the duration of my Stay. In addition, the pool was closed, and the room smelled horrible! Thankfully, I had home spray in my car. The tub was not clean. I was completely dissatisfied with my stay at Candlewood suites.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Erin
05/12/2023
Easy access to freeway. Breakfast was for purchase; which was a bummer but worth overall is was a great hotel.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Jaime
05/11/2023
This is very nice facilities. It seems kind of new. However, it had a couple issues that are not acceptable. The toilet seat had one of the bolts broken and the tub did not drained properly. Staff people should be aware of these two issues when cleaning. They should be fixed before customers check in. I notified the front desk at check out.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Tinea
05/08/2023
When we checked in, we were notified the room we booked was not available as the previous guest extended their stay. We had only one option with a smaller bed and no extra sofa bed as originally booked or we could leave. My daughter is on the spectrum and needed the extra sleeping space which was not afforded in the new room. We had to take the new booking. The pool was also broken and we were not notified prior. The new room was right on i55 and was very loud. Kids were also running up and down the halls and took over the workout room since the pool was not available. Terrible terrible stay and we will not book IHG strays again.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Courtney
04/24/2023
Didn’t disclose the pool was closed
The hotel was nice, but multiple people in our group stayed there in 4 hotel rooms because they had a pool for our kids. It was not disclosed that the pool was closed. It wasn’t a spur of the moment closing either. The pool was empty and dry.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Ryan
04/24/2023
We’ll kept place
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Kirsten
04/23/2023
Awesome
My daughter and I have never been to Cape Giraurdo. We were there for her college orientation. I didn't know anything about any of the hotels down there. I have to say I am glad we chose this one. It was a fantastic stay and is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at. This will be the only one I stay at when I go to visit my daughter when she starts college this fall. I give it 100%
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
jeffrey
04/19/2023
Nothing. Elevator out of order. Pool closed. Still charged full price. No mention of any of this on site!!!
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
John
04/18/2023
Pool was closed. Ordered king and got two queens, key did not work so they gave us a master key to the entire hotel. (How many did they give out!)
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Julie
02/28/2023
Property was under construction (which I was made aware of before booking). Elevator was closed to the public, but they made sure my son, who was in a wheelchair, was able to get in and out as needed. Staff was more than friendly and willing to accommodate his needs.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
randy
02/22/2023
very nice, friendly
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Dena
01/17/2023
They hotel ran out of rooms for whatever reason. Got to the hotel to find this out late in the evening. The whole town was booked according to the front desk clerk.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
James
01/10/2023
Huge Suite
Suite was very nice!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Michelle
01/06/2023
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Lance
01/06/2023
Will never stay there again, feel like I was walking down a hunted house
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Chandrika
01/02/2023
Me or my children could not sleep! I had to call the front desk 6 or more times to do a complaint about the people that was over us
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Tommy
01/01/2023
Only complaint is the room was a little stuffy even after turning the air down to 65. Beyond that, everything else was great!
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Jacqueline
12/29/2022
The full size refrigerator and freezer was great, I loved the dove products in the bathroom as well. The only thing I didn’t like was the musty smell in the room and the carpet didn’t look or feel clean. Would definitely stay here again.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jim
12/25/2022
We arrived before 3:00 pm and was able to check in early. Which was a big plus. Thank you
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Katy
12/25/2022
The lady at the desk was very friendly and knowledgeable. The room was clean and smelled fresh. The snack bar is 24/7 which is convenient’
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Thomas
12/22/2022
Having a full kitchenette was nice, reminding me of military temporary lodging facilities I've stayed in. But the lack of wifi on top floor was a bother.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Roger
12/22/2022
great room, very clean and bed was comfortable .
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Melody
12/18/2022
GREATEST MINI VACAY
Amazing property, friendly staff and a great surprise on my check in. The Grinch, Santa, Mrs. Claus, a Christmas tree, and frosty all were there for story time and pictures with the kids. My grandsons absolutely loved it. See you all next month for another trip :)
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jimmy
12/13/2022
Best bang for your buck. The night desk person was very nice and accommodating.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Patricia
12/10/2022
Business trip
I am in town on business, this is only extended stay(full kitchen) in town. It is in a good location, close to interstate, stores, hospital, movies l, etc. Everything was clean and comfortable the 2 wks I was there. I appreciate the free laundry facilities and gym. I wish the pool was heated and was disappointed to find out they no longer have the hot tub that is pictured and listed on the page. The weekends are quite a bit busier and therefore a bit more noisy. They are also in the remodeling process, which is not a graveyard employees friend. Several times I woke during the afternoon have expecting the ceiling to cave in under the weight of what ever it was being thrown around up there. Otherwise, it provided what I needed for the time I was there.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Julie
11/17/2022
No Breakfast - very disappointed. No tea facilities in the room (don't drink coffee). However one big plus for this property is that they have soft and firm pillows. As a stomach sleeper I struggle with hotels normally squishy pillows - huge plus for me. Would stay again just because of that.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Lacrisha
11/07/2022
We came on a Friday night for a tournament that was to last until Sunday. Saturday was rained out and our suite was perfect for a rainy day! My husband stayed there and watched football while we shopped. We were so close to everything and the property had everything we wanted. The best part was the overnight front desk staff. Both nights we had the same workers and they were the absolute most friendly and helpful staff I have experienced at a hotel and we stay at nice hotels all over the country. Great job! They deserve accolades!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Sarah
11/02/2022
Rooms very clean and needed to have handicap accessible and everything we needed was there. Personnel at Candle Wood was excellent. Only bad part was you could hear interstate traffic clearly when sleeping
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Cynthia
10/30/2022
Basic
The facility was nice. Basic amenities. We unfortunately were on a floor with a group of very loud 12 year old girls.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Teresa
10/30/2022
My stay was terrible
We were not given the two queen bed suite we were guaranteed, they said they gave them all away, and said they upgraded us to a one queen bed suite and gave us a rollaway bed. There were two adults and two children, it was not an upgrade it was a downgrade the bed was broke on one side Which was very uncomfortable, and they said they would give us a ten percent refund haven’t seen it yet. We paid ahead of time and we didn’t have a choice but to stay there, there were no other hotel rooms available anywhere else because of things going on in the town. We also had to go buy an air bed for one of the children to sleep on. Not an ideal 2 nights. The hotel was very clean and the pool was nice but sleeping was definitely not good.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Amber
10/28/2022
I like the quietness, the tv was too small and kept cutting off, and none of the appliances you could borrow worked.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
shontel
10/14/2022
It was good "pink up"
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Robert
10/12/2022
Decent hotel but not many dining options in the immediate area. Convenient if you are travelling I-55 (I was not).
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Tamera
10/10/2022
I love staying at this hotel. It’s always clean, staff is helpful.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Patricia
10/06/2022
Nice kitchen supplies and appliances. Air conditioning was broke and we couldn’t open the window. It was so late at night and we had already unpacked and had a dog that we just didn’t want to try and move rooms
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Larry D.
09/26/2022
Great hotel. Quiet and well located.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Amber
09/25/2022
IT WAS NICE AND QUIET
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Shonda
09/10/2022
Good experience
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Janet
08/30/2022
The room was amazing. The beds were great, It had a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, stove top plus dishes. They also had a place were if you needed like a blender you could borrow one. They had an arcade room. I would go back. They only thing to suggest to them would be a shelf in the bathroom for your bathroom items. The customer service was amazing.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Brenda
08/22/2022
Not a great experience!
When we arrived the person at the desk was friendly and informative. It wasn't till we reached the room that we were disappointed. The room smelled as if someone had been smoking in the room. It was hot and the air-conditioning was not on just the fan was running. The mattress was not comfortable felt broken down on my side anyway. and the security swing lock on the door was broken. Internet on the 4th floor was non existent. we could see the wireless but no internet at all the hole time we were there, even though I let the desk know nothing changed. If you had to ask me if we would stay there again I would say no. We will be making several trips to the area over the next several months and will not use this hotel again.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Adina
08/04/2022
Perfect
This was a wonderful hotel that provided all of the comforts of home and was clean and welcoming. You could even do your laundry...for no extra charge.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Bassam
08/02/2022
Nice staff, good kitchen utilities, location close to main highways, no breakfast/dining options
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Larry
07/22/2022
Loved the convince of having a full kitchen, which was the reason I gave this property a second chance and I'm glad I did. Noticed ongoing efforts to maintain property: parking lot has been resealed, outside of building recently repainted and the room chair that I pointed out for being excessively worn 4 years ago has been redone.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Jo
07/18/2022
Great place to stay for a great price.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
John
07/18/2022
It was a nice stay, however the pool windows were really dirty and the pool area looked like it hadn’t been cleaned. The pool was clean, but at opened water was still all over the floor and the 2 portable air conditioners units were not working and cords just laying there.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Monet
07/05/2022
Cool
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Denise
06/29/2022
👍
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Robert
06/24/2022
It is the only place we have stayed in many, many years that had no breakfast. The kitchen would allow you to make your own but when traveling who has time for that.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Steve
06/21/2022
Great staff
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Sarah
06/09/2022
.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Crystal
06/05/2022
They sent us to a room that had not been cleaned. It smelled like eggs and cooked bacon, trash and walmart sacs all over the room, bed was not made and i honestly thought i walked in on somebody. Also i did not care for the folks that were around that were intoxicated and insisting we come eat and drink with them. Also the men staggering around drunk grabbing their groin areas.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Armando
05/31/2022
Order a room with a king bed and got a room with to queen beds
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
James
05/28/2022
Did not receive the room i paid for
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
jenny
05/21/2022
Comfortable
Check in was fast and easy. Beds were soooo comfortable,very clean and close to everything.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
lisa
05/11/2022
Would recommend 🙂
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Jeffrey
05/09/2022
Pleasant Stay
The stay was very good. We only stayed one night but it was comfy and enjoyable. My only issue was not with the hotel but with inconsiderate people that allowed their dog to go right in front of the side door and my wife stepped in it. Literally right in front of the door on the sidewalk. Come on people. Have some consideration for other people.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Stephanie
05/07/2022
Staff were friendly and helpful at checkin
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Paul
04/25/2022
Was clean but found out they don’t change your bedding. You have to turn I. Your towels To get different Ones.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
John
04/04/2022
Surprise, but Suite
This hotel was very clean and comfortable. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. We all slept good. Had an on-site game room, laundry room, and gym. We were very impressed.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Kari
03/14/2022
The employees were fantastic! Super nice. We thought we had 2 beds in our room and we ended up having just one. The staff went above and beyond finding us bedding, pillows and vouchers to the snack area. Would stay here again! Thank you.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
charles
03/09/2022
Charged us $485 to not stay
We booked a wheelchair accessible room. When we arrived, we were told that they got unexpectedly busy and that they sold our room out from under us leavin us with no where to stay at 9 pm. After a 12 hour work day, we had to drive two plus hours home and then the two hour plus drive back early the next morning. Worst of all, they charged me 485 dollars to not stay there.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Steven
03/08/2022
1st the room I paid for was unavailable then once in room all dishes were dirty. But the front desk helped with printing out needed documents. Other than my disappointment the room was quiet and shower had good pressure and towels were oversized.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Brandy
02/23/2022
We needed a last minute large group booking. The front desk manager Amanda was amazing to work with. She went above and beyond before and during our stay.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Roger
02/07/2022
It had snowed and they did a poor job of managing that. The luggage carts were exposed to the weather so did not work. The room did not have luggage stands. The bathroom did not have a vanity, just a sink - no place to put your toiletries. The floor in the lobby was wet and slippery. We had a very poor experience.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Robert
02/05/2022
Room was nice a spacious.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Michelle
02/05/2022
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Renda
02/01/2022
Room was clean. Staff was courteous and helpful. Enjoyed the lobby music. It was great having a laundry room since we were there for a ball tournament.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Sheila
01/24/2022
A group of us stayed for the weekend while cooking at an event. Staff was top notch, we were able to keep our tradition of pizza in the lobby after our comp. Great place, would stay again.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Brandy
01/18/2022
Spacious well stocked rooms
Good covid mitigations in place. Room was clean. Full size fridge. Sink, dishwasher, mini stove, and a microwave, as well as dishes to use wwere nice for the longer stay. Pillows were meh. Heat/ac were confusing to manage. Overall okay.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Jessica
01/18/2022
Just don’t.
The place is nasty. There was absolutely no service. We never received new towels. It was awful.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Dominica
01/17/2022
I enjoyed the location of the hotel was great. The front desk staff was helpful, however I asked the cleaning staff twice for towels that were on our floor and they were not given or brought to the room . We had to go to the front desk to get them ourselves. Overall good place to stay with spacious rooms.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Sandra
01/16/2022
Not happy at all
Went to check in they didn’t have my room reserved the one I was needed to stay in place smelled really bad the person checked us in did not know what she was doing she kept ignoring me and talked to other guys forever had to call manager and she still couldn’t get it right so we walked out and they still charged me !!!! Not happy
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Reginald
01/13/2022
nice place to stay
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Michelle
01/11/2022