4.5/5 Excellent
200 reviews
Amenities
4.6/5
Cleanliness
4.8/5
Comfort
4.6/5
Condition
4.6/5
Service
4.6/5

Most Recent Reviews

5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Gustavo
11/21/2023
Excellent
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Timothy
11/19/2023
Room service coffee cup had lipstick on it.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Christian
11/14/2023
We had to Wait almost 2 hrs after the 3pm check in time to get a room . That was very inconvenient and disappointing.. the rooms and staff were very nice and no other complaints at all ..
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Peter
11/06/2023
Great service and lunch with a view
Thanks to Anna's excellent customer service skills at the front desk, we had a wonderful stay combining work with seeing family. Enjoyed location, great bathtub and very comfortable bed. Be sure to have a long lunch at the rooftop Contessa Restaurant
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
11/05/2023
Not First Class
bed was very uncomfortabl. On 2nd night of stay band plying downstairs from 8 to 11 pm nonstop!!!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Lori
11/02/2023
Welcoming and Luxurious. Great location in Back Bay. Walkable to good restaurant options. From the valet to check in to bar tender at the street bar, everyone was happy to see you. Only wish is that they kept a few tables open at Contessa for hotel guests. I’ve stayed twice and enjoyed both .
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Melanie
10/23/2023
The hotel is well located and beautiful but there was a problem with our room the first night. However, the hotel was eager to make it right. They went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable !
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Luiz
10/19/2023
Amazing
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Luiz
10/18/2023
Just the best place in Boston to stay
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Dorothy
10/10/2023
Amazing stay! Beautiful and location, service was impeccable!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Bobby
10/08/2023
Great would definitely recommend
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Elizabth
10/06/2023
excellent location and setting, very friendly and helpful staff.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Elizabth
10/05/2023
world class excellence.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Patrick
09/28/2023
Rude staff. Disorganized. Didn't offer any of the VIP perks.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Michael David
09/18/2023
First class in every aspect!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
george
08/30/2023
Excellent
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Allison
08/29/2023
Amazing property! Great location
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Jasen
08/29/2023
Pretty visible wear on furnishings and didn’t fee luxurious.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Ekaterina
08/11/2023
Absolutely wonderful hotel! Location is the best! Rooms are large and well appointed. This review wouldn’t be complete without mention of the doorman staff. Their amazing attitudes and friendly attitudes were a treat! Definitely put on my fav list)
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jeffrey
08/05/2023
Lovely rooms, excellent location friendly staff.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
stewart
08/05/2023
The Newberry has it ALL
The Newberry was beyond my expectations. It was in the best location. My check in was quick and perfect. Everyone is so nice and helpful. We ate at the hotel and visited the Street Bar. Both excellent. The room was great too. I love all the decor. I will be back soon and will never stay anywhere else in Boston.
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Anthony
07/29/2023
Surprised at the lack of customer service and responsiveness. Was double charged and yet to be rectified. Room was not made by 6pm.. very strange for a hotel at this price range.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
jessica
07/24/2023
The checkin process was the only place this hotel fell down; for this price we should have a room ready at 3 pm as promised, not 6 when delivered. The front desk was nice about it and I don't blame them, but it should never have happened. Excuse was they were busy with lots of checkouts and housekeeping couldn't keep up. That's not unexpected. At the least we should have all been comped something like breakfast or given a percentage off our rooms, etc.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Luiz
07/20/2023
Just great
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
yuan
07/03/2023
First time staying at the Newbury. What a pleasant experience😊 starting from the warm welcome from the bellman to the front desk staff Mario. He was so informative and thoughtful. Definitely will return to stay here again 👍
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Andrew
06/27/2023
There was poor communication to the desk clerk and we could not check in before 3pm. No one offered us water as we arrived and the desk clerks looked to busy to look up to greet us. They were rude and didn't even tell us we could wait in the lounge that had complimentary water.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Elrod
06/21/2023
Great location. Upgraded us when they heard it was a honeymoon stay, great hospitality.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Matthew
06/20/2023
Absolutely perfect place to stay in the heart of Boston. Fantastic accommodations and excellent customer first service. Will be where I tell all my friends and family to stay on their trips to the city - top notch!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Marichelle
05/31/2023
This is a tasteful hotel in a perfect location. The staff is professional, friendly, and unpretentious. The beds are very comfortable, and the linens are high-end. Plenty of space in the rooms, though I’m not sure they’re worth almost $1000/night (for that price, I would expect a suite, a better view than ducts and air condition units, and a table with more than one chair - or at least a writing desk area). The room service come quickly, but was extremely overpriced ($23 for oatmeal with sliced bananas???). Did I like the hotel — yes. Would I stay here again — not for the price.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Zahir
05/26/2023
Lovely hotel
Good hotel and well located
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Suzannah
05/25/2023
A couple of fixable glitches
Beautiful property, fabulous location, friendly staff. Check in is at 3, we arrived at 2 and our room was not ready. Killed some time, went back at 3:15- still not ready. Ready by 4pm. They were very apologetic, but offered nothing but that apology. No complimentary water in the room, but the most comfortable hotel bed ever! Breakfast in the restaurant. I ordered only a cappuccino, my husband ordered an egg plate. His came, mine didn't. I inquired and was told with an apology that it would be right out. Still not out. My husband is now done with his breakfast and I am waiting on a $9 cup of coffee! I cancelled it and asked for the check. They brought my coffee! I explained that I no longer wanted to sit and sip a cup of coffee since his breakfast is now a memory. They did offer it free and 'to go', which was very nice. Otherwise a lovely place to stay.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Joe
05/24/2023
Disappointed
I am very unhappy with this stay. The room smelled like unwashed kennel and was not as clean as it should have been for the caliber of room they advertise. I understand the importance of pet friendly but a luxury hotel should go above and beyond to make sure their property stays clean while accommodating the furry friends.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Sara
05/17/2023
Perfect location in Boston as it's directly across from the Boston Commons and within walking distance to great restaurants and luxury shopping. The hotel also has a fantastic restaurant on the rooftop - The Contessa. I would definitely stay here again!
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Charles
05/14/2023
Great staff and a nice property. Wonderful location.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Michele
05/13/2023
Very elegant hotel. Perfect location. Service excellent. Rooms very nice. Glad I chose here. If I go to Boston again, this is my top pick.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jose
05/07/2023
Location and modern
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
William
05/01/2023
Perfect stay in the perfect location!
Rooms were spacious and clean and surprisingly modern for a historic hotel. Loved every bit of it! Restaurant was great, staff was amazing, and the location just can't be beat. Will definitely be back!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Elaine
04/22/2023
This is a great boutique hotel that was absolutely charming. But it was the service and friendliness that really stood out. It was truly above and beyond what you find in most hotels. I would highly recommend staying there.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Luiz
04/17/2023
.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Melanie
03/27/2023
Beautiful and clean
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Philip
03/20/2023
Absolutely amazing experience!!!! The staff is phenomenal!!!!!!
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
karin
03/08/2023
I stayed at the Newberry for six nights this month. I pre-paid on Expedia $3600 for one of my two rooms, However, despite numerous in person and telephone conversations with a Newbury, each time admitting that they made an accounting error and owe me money , they continue to charge my card as if I didn’t pre-pay for the room. Despite promising to reimburse me for charging me twice for the room, they still owe me approximately $3000 for failing to credit my room for my pre-payment. I’m tired of calling them and requesting that they fix their faulty the accounting. I spent at least 20 minutes at the front desk when I checked out letting them know that they had charged my credit card twice, and I’ve called them twice since then to request that they fix this. Each time they are extremely apologetic and promised that it will be fixed immediately. I checked out of the hotel 10 days ago and I still see the charges on my credit card. In addition, it takes over 30 minutes to get your car from valet. One day it took me exactly 1 hour and 15 minutes to wait for my car. Cute hotel and great location, but I spent $6000 at a hotel and received really bad service. I cannot recommend this hotel, others after my experience.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Katrina
03/06/2023
The Staff were amazing, the hotel was quiet at night.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
margaret
02/23/2023
Great location but the heat was not working and it was below zero out. The air handler in the room sounds like a plane landing and there is no way to turn it off. We called for the engineer several times and we’re told he was busy trying to fix the heat so we were hopeful. He did finally show up and we were told that our heat was working and that this was the highest setting and that the cold air blowing out of the handler was normal. We paid for a park view but had to keep the drapes closed the entire time because the windows are so old the draft was as if they were open . We went down for breakfast the next morning and the few people there were in their coats again no heat and u could see ur breath we ate in a hurry as to just check out and get in our warm car. No apologies or comps so I’m assuming this is how it is in the winter so think twice before booking during a cold snap. Otherwise cosmetic hotel makeover is beautiful and food was good.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
John
02/14/2023
The Newbury is a classic in the heart of Boston
A beautiful room overlooking the Boston Public Garden- wonderful details in spacious room- 5 Stars
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Alon
02/09/2023
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Mara
02/08/2023
Great
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Vanessa
01/30/2023
New favorite in Downtown Boston!
The service at The Newbury was truly impressive. The staff was unbelievably kind from the moment I arrived. The location is perfect, and Contessa and the Street Bar are fabulous. The in-room dining was the only thing that could use a little work. Can't wait to come back!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Ryan
01/23/2023
Wonderful staff, beautiful hotel. Food in the downstairs bar was just okay.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Brian
01/21/2023
Birthday Bash
The suite was spacious and comfortable but boringly beige. The lighting in the rooms left a lot to be desired. In the sitting room all the lights (overhead) are controlled off the same Lutron controller, meaning all are bright or dim - no subtilty. A couple of standard lamps would be a welcome addition. Service was excellent. Contessa was an excellent choice to celebrate a birthday with delicious food and great service.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Kathleen
01/15/2023
The Newbury has the friendliest, most attentive staff, and the rooms and amenities are beautiful and clean. We had a great stay!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Luiz
01/13/2023
.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Sigrid
12/31/2022
It is a beautiful property. Our suite, `1608, was outstanding. But the heat was blowing cold air in the living room. It was impossible to get the Amazon Prime streaming service to work, after having tried for an hour. The hotel should just give visitors immediate access to the streaming service, then charge visitors for usage, just as with room service or the mini-bar.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Stephen
11/23/2022
Excellent hotel in a beautiful area. Staff are very, very friendly,and the Street Bar and Contessa are great dining options.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Wendy
11/22/2022
Great hotel!
Great service, room beautiful, very clean, room service food great. Great Staff! Will return.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Evi
11/16/2022
Staff friendly and professional, great location. Very quiet and peaceful. Would highly recommend.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Matthew
11/04/2022
Honestly one of the best services I have had from a hotel in a very long time, friendly staff, upgraded my room to a very nice suit, great location on Newbury and Boston Commons, would highly recommend
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Francesco
10/31/2022
Perfectly located. Spacious rooms on a boutique high end hotel.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Joanne
10/13/2022
A great stay!
This hotel is beautiful but it is the people who work here that were kind and helpful that made my stay so wonderful. I will be back to the Newbury. Thank you all.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Renee
09/15/2022
Great Choice for Location and Service
Wonderful location and great staff! Love this hotel - have stayed there every time I've been in Boston!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Domenico
09/11/2022
Outstanding!!!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Michael
08/28/2022
Very nice accommodations. Friendly and helpful staff.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Natalie
08/27/2022
Hdhjcvnbcc
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Kathryn
08/19/2022
The staff was the nicest ever!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Michelle
08/16/2022
Very nice location, staff was helpful and personable, beautiful, updated hotel.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Ryan
08/06/2022
Best location in Boston!!
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Michael
07/29/2022
Park View room with no park view. Restaurant that is NOT for Hotel Guests. Concierge that is not available and tells you he can't get a table in the hotel restaurant and that he will call you in 90 minutes. Overall, very arrogant and disappointing hotel.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Lilly
07/28/2022
Not worth the money
No service. Be prepared for an apathetic staff and a lot of waiting. No attention to detail or care for guests. Not a 5 star experience.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Rusong
07/28/2022
We stayed in the hotel for one night and left early in the morning. Staffs were very helpful and the service was impeccable. The only con to me is the decorations and furnitures are too modern and not matching the history of this hotel from first glance in my view. Everything else is great.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Laura
07/28/2022
Amazing staff and service. Loved it here!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Marilee
07/26/2022
The staff was outstanding very friendly and accommodating. We love your hotel have been staying there since It was The Ritz. Such an upgrade the nicest of the 3. Beautiful rooms and my husband loved the huge towels. And it smells good.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Adrianne
07/10/2022
It was great, until…
It’s always great experience staying at the Newbury Boston. The staff are wonderful and remembered us from our last stay a few months ago. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure you have a great experience. But the last our of our stay wasn’t the greatest… If you valet, make sure you text for your car to come instead of call. If you call, your car may be delivered to the wrong entrance. Texting allows you to select Arlington or Newbury. We waited over 40 minutes for our car that was brought to the wrong entrance. Instead of the valet staff coming around the just to see if we were at that entrance, like they did with other people who were on the wrong side, our car just sat there. When other patrons started to draw the attention to the valet about how long we have been waiting, I started to walk over to see if our car was on the on the other corner and it was. Then none of the bellmen helped us move the trolley around the corner to our vehicle when there were 2 bellman and 5 valet staff just watching us struggle with the trolley. The valet manager apologized and showed me how calls come through in poorly on their program. I will always come back the Newbury because the place and staff are amazing, and love the neighborhood and local to everything. Even though this valet experience wasn’t great, I know they always do their best in putting their best foot forward!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Telmo
06/27/2022
Very good Hotel, great staff, top notch accommodations, convenient & central location.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Kelly
06/08/2022
Beautifully refurbished. Rooftop restaurant and bar with dazzling views of the city. Great location across from the Boston Public Garden.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Kevin
04/24/2022
Great service, great room, great location