3/5
138 reviews
Amenities
3.1/5
Cleanliness
2.9/5
Comfort
3/5
Condition
2.7/5
Neighborhood
3.9/5
Service
3.5/5
Recommendation
53.5/100

Most Recent Reviews

1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Lindsey Kristina
09/26/2023
Not what I was expecting at all.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Crystal
09/17/2023
Was lead to believe that the room had a kitchen and didn't. There was no elevator.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Brianna
09/17/2023
Honest review here, we arrived staff was very nice. Our room had a weird smell especially around the air conditioner. Floor was sticky feeling we just wore our shoes 24/7, we were given 4 towels for 6 of us which was fine I brought some due to previous reviews. We found a total of 5 cockroaches all along the wall that adjoined their supply closet, no bed bugs and beds were comfy. It was quiet, very close to the beach. I probably wouldn’t stay again but it wasn’t horrible.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
virginia
07/24/2023
Great staff
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
paul
07/18/2023
Dirty sheets . Sand on the floor. Out dated appliances.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Shelia
07/14/2023
The staff was very friendly, helpful and always available. Air conditioner worked great.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Brandy
07/08/2023
Okay so this property is not the Ritz so adjust your expectations. We arrived early in the day and were pleasantly surprised to be able to check right in. We stayed in 108. Initially the room smelled bad and had a leaky refrigerator. I told the lady at the front desk and shortly she had someone bring another refrigerator. Housekeeping came in and mopped several times, as it was clear that the fridge was the source of the odor. Once it was throughly cleaned they sprayed some fabreeze and the smell was truly gone. I was impressed with the overall cleanliness of the room. The beds were decent, the sheets smelled clean and there was no mold in the bathroom. The towels were clean but a bit rough but what do you expect at this price. The housekeeping staff was so nice and took pride in the fact that their little motel is kept clean despite its general shabbiness. The beach was very close and there is an ice cream shop just across the street. It rained the night we stayed so we didn’t notice anyone hanging around the parking lot. The rooms next to us has people in them but we didn’t really hear anyone . Overall a great find- we would stay there again. Tips: 1. Bring a broom to sweep out your room after going to the beach 2. Bring small amount of cash for ice to fill your cooler 3. Only provide 1 parking space but there was plenty of parking right next to the rooms 4. We booked through Expedia and were not asked for any cash deposit as indicated by other reviews
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
J ANDREW
06/28/2023
Excellent staff makes all the difference
The staff was excellent and made all the difference. An older hotel, could use some updating. But the room was clean enough, and everything worked. You can't help who the hotel lets stay, but when we had a large, ridiculously loud family next door blaring music and the kids throwing firecrackers, the staff took care of the Addams Family right away. Then we got some sleep. Overall, the staff (all of them) made our stay better than it would've been.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
David
06/20/2023
Floors in rooms (vinyl) need to be mopped. It turned our feet brown and we wore shoes inside.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
angela
06/17/2023
Well had to ask for toilet paper and towels every day no ice machine or snack machines had to ask for a broom to sweep out the sand out of the room the people were very nice
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Adrienne
05/27/2023
Save your money or spend a little more elsewhere
My husband and I booked a trip for 5 days. On the first day I was ready to leave. The room was horrible. There was old candy on the floor around the bed and side chairs, no kitchen area as website had shown and there was a hairy mess around the toilet. The air conditioner barely worked and looked as if it was ready to fall off the wall at any given second. I thought after the first night since the room was being occupied they would clean better...nope. I was completely uncomfortable with the whole thing. We did end up leaving a few nights early. I will say that we saw no bugs(thank goodness) but i would not recommend this hotel if you're looking for even a decent getaway. Also, this place was surrounded by homeless people hanging around the parking lot, which was unfortunate because we had quite a few asking for money, to use our phones or to just ramble. I'm not knocking homelessness but when you have an older lady getting high in your "pathway" to the beach it can be unsettling. We have been going to Myrtle twice a year for the past eight years but i think this year did me in.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Armie
05/22/2023
It was near beach. The workers was pleasant.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
David
05/21/2023
An average older beachfront motel. Has been fixed up some, but there is only so much you can do with such properties. Good location, and all rooms have at least partial ocean views. Some guest were a bit rough & noisy, but quieted down at 11 pm. Reserved a non-smoking room, but got a smoking one. No offensive odor so decided not to request relocation. Would stay again if only looking for basic accommodations in a resort area.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
05/17/2023
Could be better
It was a decent hotel but they charge $40 deposit and it has to be cash but they dont have a atm the bathroom had a low ceilings and even shorter shower head that i a 6ft 2in tall guy couldnt even get alway wet and every time in the afternoon came out smelling like weed when i had my 3 kids with me the one shelf was falling out of the wall and the dresser was missing handles and there was peeling paint on the wall
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Kiet
04/24/2023
The location is good. The staff is very friendly.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Daniel
04/20/2023
I rated this property as "ok" only due to the fact that it was so inexpensive to stay at. Check-in process was a lot more complicated than it needed to be (wanted to see my wife's ID at check-in when in fact I had made a room reservation for two people - did they think she was a prostitute?). The room was also not very clean...had dog hair on the dust-cover blanket and what looked like dried up dog food on the floor (maybe hotels in Myrtle Beach should consider having a "pet-free" option for a room). Also had to show a copy of my check-in receipt when I left in the morning because apparently my name "disappeared" from their database. A lot of incompetence but for the low price and the fact we were just there to sleep it was tolerable.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Tabitha
04/06/2023
Staff was really nice
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Amanda
03/20/2023
Nice location excellent service!
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Lashawn
09/20/2022
Don’t stay it’s not safe
It was the worst so loud and dirty. People buying and selling drugs. We were locked out of our room had to wait for management to let us back in. I WILL NEVER stay at that place again.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Latoyia
09/19/2022
My stay at Sea Dunes was overall good except for we were unable to get ice I was told that ice was only for the residents facing the ocean I think they call it triage rooms the rooms in the back. But the overall room was clean and housekeeping provided great service.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Tony
09/18/2022
Horrible completely disappointed
The rooms were all damn and stale the sheets were nasty and the lady wouldn’t change rooms or clean it for us
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Kiet
09/08/2022
Location is so good.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Richard
08/27/2022
Better than sleeping rough.
Very low end establishment, rooms seemed clean but outside windows filthy with is off-putting.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Beth
08/15/2022
Mrytle beach trip
Motel was clean,checkin went well but help in office needs to change,pool was small but relaxing. I didn't like the area
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Kelly
07/21/2022
Property is old, no elevator so be prepared to lug belongings up 2 flights of stairs. Had trouble getting clean towels, room cleanliness was awful. Lamp shades looked like they had throw up on them, A/C hadn’t been cleaned in some time, behind toilet on floor was nasty, not cleaned. Old doesn’t mean it can’t be clean. Would not stay again.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Hisham
07/16/2022
For lack of better rates
It's ok for the price.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Danielle
06/23/2022
Excellent service
Staff was very knowledgeable about the area and very friendly to every want or need. Very responsive to any request. Nice clean pool area located just off the beach
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
louis
04/19/2022
Perfect no frills place
Perfect for a friends "no frills" beach trip. Friendly staff. Great location
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
04/17/2022
Will choose this more lol again
Absolutely great location, close to everything needed! Floors should have been cleaner, but not a deal breaker. Looking forward to staying there again. Overall, room was great, bed was comfortable and clean!
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Crystal
03/20/2022
Disappointing
This room was advertised as having a partial ocean view with a balcony. Instead it was a view of the parking lot and a chair outside the door in the walkway. The door did not seal well at the bottom, so smoke from the employees on their smoke break drifted in. This area is very loud.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
kim ann
09/28/2021
A lot of construction noise and the room smell bad
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
John
09/21/2021
The price is great!
We were pleasantly surprised by our stay. It was lower priced than others that are not nearly as nice. It is a small older motel on the oceanfront. We were able to park just a few feet from our door. The laminate flooring was new. The room was spacious with 2 very comfortable queen beds, 4 tables and 6 chairs. The kitchenette was small but included a stove with oven as well as microwave and refrigerator. We were making a quick return trip to Myrtle Beach so we did not have time to use pools and other amenities that the resorts have and charge an extra fee for. I would definitely recommend this place and will plan to stay there again.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Tracy
09/18/2021
I enjoyed my stay. The housekeeper got a room cleaned so I was able to check in early. Always had clean linens. Pool was clean. Overall, for the price it wasn’t a bad stay!
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
jere d
08/23/2021
Great value and friendly staff. Had a fun weekend. It's not the Hilton resort, but it had a bed, shower clean room and a pool. Plus, right on the beach. You can't really complain for the value. Would stay again.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
NORBERT
08/23/2021
Ok
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
08/20/2021
The staff was friendly I would definitely recommend.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
08/19/2021
I had no issues with my stay. I would gladly return there !
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
06/22/2021
It was dirty and very old!!! The outside and inside. It had a lot of people hanging out around the building.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
russell
05/14/2021
Doors didnt seal very well and was supposed to be Ocean front was side veiw and barely could see it pool was out side and water in pool was cold,hardly any place to park,
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
04/12/2021
Very dirty, no locks on doors and overall 0/10 do NOT recommend!
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
03/22/2021
The rooms were clean. The bare minimum. Pool was small but so was the hotel. Very convient to family kingdom and bars close by. The staff was friendly. I dont have any complaints about the property. This is a 2 star place to stay but if your just looking for somewhere to lay your head at night or just the minimum stay this is a nice choice.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
03/21/2021
Warning!!! Filthy, mold, dark, broken bathroom fixtures. Immediately walked out.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Raymond
10/09/2020
Smoke smell
If you dont smoke dont stay here. Rooms smell like pure cigarettes and are dirty. Even the bed sheets have cigarette burns in them. You get what you pay for and i should have paid more.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
09/06/2019
The area it was at everything is in walking distance wat I DNT like they didn't have breakfast in the morning just coffee the employees are beautiful people 😍 I would definitely go back their
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Elizabeth
08/26/2019
You get what you pay for
It was ok. The smell was not pleasant the towels were dingy looking and were so thin they barely dried anything.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
08/16/2019
misleading /poor room condition
I cancelled my reservation after I saw the horrible condition of the hotel and looked for a better hotel. The room was musty, no kitchen utensils and everything looked old and dirty. It was worse than the cheapest hotel (motel 6). I had requested an ocean front view room with a kitchen but that request was messed up. The front office staff (lady) was very polite with excellent customer service skills and worked with us to get a new reservation only to be disappointed by the horrible condition of the room. We could not spend the night and has to cancel the reservation and hunt down for another hotel although it very late at night. another disappointment was that the room we got was first level facing the swimming pool and no ocean view although we had been charged extra for ocean view. the location of the hotel is perfect very close to the beach. I saw some happy customers so I might be too picky but you asked for my personal opinion,
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
08/05/2019
The bathrooms are in disrepair and they have roaches
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
kathleen
08/01/2019
Terrifying
First thing we get there we on the 3rd floor have to carry luggage up 2 flights of stairs. The would be elevator is sealed off, with drywall. Smh. Then we bought a box of donuts, ate 2 out the box. Go back for another one and a roach is in the box. I go to brush my teeth and one comes out the hole in the sink. They say no smoking in the rooms yet I smell cigarettes @ 3am. There was bread behind the bed, I only seen it because I dropped my charger. They knocked on the door @ 10:30am asked if we needed clean towels. I gave her the dirty ones. We didn’t get clean ones til 2:30pm. Even after I called down to the front desk to tell her I have a interview. I ended up using my beach towels that I bought. The only good thing about this hotel is that it was close to the beach and had security cameras so my truck was safe.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
07/10/2019
Positive review
Our room was clean and ready when we checked in and was cleaned daily. Mary and Tatiana were very helpful and pleasant! We had a side view room with a good view of the ocean! This is an older hotel but not run down or dirty like some reviews stated. We stayed a week and saw maintenance clean the pool daily. We will stay here again! Tried to load photos but it wouldn't let me.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
07/09/2019
I do like that it’s right at the beach, what I didn’t like is that you have to pay for ice if you need it
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Jane
06/24/2019
Door card didnot work good someone had to let us in three times every time we left someone got our parking space infront of our room stove inpoor shape
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Santu
06/17/2019
Smoking hotel
I booked non smoking room, but this hotel doesn’t have any non smoking room at all. It’s entirely smoking hotel, how did they confirm my booking?
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
05/20/2019
Good location. Staff very friendly. Not a 5 star, but a good hotel
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
05/20/2019
The property was ocean front and convenient to amenities. The staff was polite and helpful. They didn’t seem to be inconvenienced when asked for their help. The pool area was clean. The walk to the beach was short.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Fernando
05/13/2019
We used sheets from previous costumer we also found rollydollies
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
05/09/2019
Owner Mr. I. G. Patel upgraded my room from ocean side view to oceanfront at same rate of side view. All staff members very much courteous and helpful, wish good luck to owner and staff members.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
04/01/2019
I didn’t like he front desk staff and it smelled like marijuana in the hall. It had no amenities other than an outside pool and free wi-fi. It’s definitely not worth the money they charge. There’s no privacy bc of the paper thin walls. It was very uncomfortable and unnerving bc of the rift raft that stayed there.
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
10/08/2018
Rooms did not even have the usual coffee maker and hair dryers. If you needed anything you had to go get it, it wasn't brought to you. The rooms was decent as being clean, however when the girl cleaned our room she took our dirty towels, but didn't leave any, we had to go down and get our own. Would not be my choice of a place to stay again.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Michael
10/01/2018
Excellent location, but quite a dive!!!
Excellent location! BUT...everything else...not so much! I've stayed at "beach hotels/motels", so I keep that in mind with these. However, I've stayed at many MB ocean front hotels, and this one is quite the scourge, compared to the others. It needs to be either torn down and rebuilt, or a REAL good rinsing.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Max
09/14/2018
My Orbitz rate was $80 per night, yet the hotel street sign advertised rooms for $39. We were not told that only one vehicle was allowed, but the manager did accommodate us. Several light bulbs were missing from the lamps. The remote control was broken, but the manager did give us a new one. The wi-fi never worked, and I had to use all of the data allowance from my cellphone provider to set up a hotspot. The motel is old, but with a little more attention could be OK. The room was spacious, bed comfortable, hot water, and kitchen appliances worked.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Johnathon
09/11/2018
Nice place
It was good. Other than the ac not being to good it was good.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Victoria
09/06/2018
It was ok. If you need somewhere to sleep and shower this is your place. Wasn't in the room most of the stay
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Peggy
08/27/2018
You get what you pay for
It was an ok hotel the air conditioning didn’t work very well and the bed was uncomfortable
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Sheilda
08/27/2018
Rooms need to be inspected before opening to customers. Very unclean!
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Karen
08/22/2018
Ok for what it is
The only good thing about this hotel is that it's right on the beach and the staff was extremely nice and professional, however, during my stay room service NEVER came to change bed linens or replace towels/wash clothes! I reserved and made a deposit on an oceanfront room only to get there and find out that they overbooked all of the oceanfront rooms! I was willing to take an interior room only because this was an impromptu weekend trip. The furniture and doors are extremely outdated. It's ok if you're on a budget or just want something on the beach, but if you're in for an extended stay (longer than a weekend) I'd look elsewhere!!
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
08/20/2018
Good staff, good check in - out , close to the beach
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Angie
08/06/2018
The reviews on this hotel don't do any justice to the reality. I've never spent a night in a room as dirty as the one I was placed in. The room is equipped with a stove, refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom is across from the refrigerator and stove. I would turn the other way or close my eyes when going to the bathroom to avoid looking at the stove. The stains of it were disgusting. It was so dirty, that it seemed like it had been years since it was last cleaned. There were stains on the carpet. The sheets were stained and had holes. The walls were chipping and were dirty. The front of the hotel is also dirty. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy. If there's anything good I can day about this place, is that it's a 1 minute walk to the beach, the staff was nice and informative, it's approximately 5 minutes away from Family Kingdom amusement park and water park. Broadway at the beach and Ripley's aquarium is about a 7 to 10 minutes drive. Don't waste tour time or money! Save up and stay somewhere else!
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Misty
08/03/2018
Rooms has mildew smell. The rooms are nasty. The one we had the bed and chair was wet!!! The Motel need to be closed down.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Unhappy
07/30/2018
Too many things wrong to list
This was the only place that had a vacancy, so I thought, "why not". That won't happen again. Stove was rusted, cabinets screwed shut, the online ORBITZ stated, "ocean front" - NOT, the toilet would not flush, no coffee maker, no hair dryer, no kleenex. Trust me, when I saw this place, we search frantically trying to find anything that had a vacancy. I can't tell you the places I "walked in" asking for anything, to no avail. The lady at the front counter was SUPER nice and sweet. Please don't book and don't stay at this place. If you were like me and think well it's the only place that is open, STAY HOME or go south to the next beach and drive up.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Kimberly
07/25/2018
This was by no means an overt hotel. But I was pleasantly surprised when I got to my room and found a kitchenette. I didn't recall seeing that in any room description. The rooms were clean, the daily housekeeping took care of all the sand we tracked in daily from the beach, and the location was nice. We were oceanfront which is what we were looking for, but also within walking distance of the small amusement park (great for my pre-teens) and mini golf as well as some beach shopping. Overall I wasn't disappointed with the hotel for the price I paid.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
07/24/2018
Great deal for the price
The staff was very friendly the rooms are clean, but can use a little basic maintenance. Not far from lots of attractions, and easy walk to the beach. Was a great deal for the price, when at the beach you just need a place to sleep and didnt spend much time in room
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
07/05/2018
Vacation ok n
It's an alright hotel if you just want somewhere to lay your head for a night, but would not recommend for a 4 day vacation. The first day we got there a roach was in the bathroom. Went to bed that night and woke up in the morning and saw another roach in the bathroom. Told the desk clerk and they lowered the payment for the last night's stay. Well let's just say on in the morning on the third day there was a roach laying dead in the bed beside my step daughter when she woke up. Try to ask for a refund but management only upgraded the room which wasn't any better. The next day before leaving we shook out everything before packing up. Got all of our stuff in the car and walked back into the upgraded room and looked by the dresser and there was a big dead roach laying. So wouldn't recommend for a long stay but for a night.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
07/05/2018
Absolute dump in a convenient location.
This place could be an absolute gem. It’s in a great location, but obviously run by some lower class citizens who don’t really care that their facility is an absolute dump. This place is not even fit for government placed low income people. It should be bulldozed to the ground and replaced with a respectable building run by competent owners.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Milton
06/24/2018
An afordable oceanfront motel
First off a few things you should know. There are no elevators, stairwells on either end. The rooms do not have coffee makers, but do have unfurnished kitchenettes (fridge, stove and microwave). There is no ice machine, bag ice is available at front desk for $$. Wi-fi is spotty due to inadequate bandwidth. Parking is tight but adequate. Provided mini soap is adequate for washing hands only i.e. bring your own. With that said, overall we enjoyed our stay. Keep in mind that this is an old single side motel that is dwarfed by surrounding modern high rise hotels. The exterior is rougher than the rooms themselves. Location is right on the beach and easily accessible, with food and shopping in walking distance. We stayed in a side facing top level room. It was clean, well air conditioned, great water pressure and comfortable beds. Not five star, but a great value for an oceanfront stay!
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
06/13/2018
Nice hotel close to beach