3.2/5
201 reviews
Amenities
3.7/5
Cleanliness
3/5
Comfort
3.3/5
Condition
3/5
Neighborhood
3.9/5
Service
3.4/5
Recommendation
71.8/100

Most Recent Reviews

5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Sirlene
08/05/2023
Very good resort
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Mynika
07/17/2023
Loved where we stayed didn’t have to leave everything was local
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Desiree
07/09/2023
After I booked, I read some reviews that had me second guessing my decision. I am happy we decided to go for it. Our condo was beach front and very clean. Yeah there is rust on appliances and such, but it's on the beach. It's what salt water condensation does! The owners can't be expected to change stuff out just because there is some rust. Especially if the appliance is still working just fine! The view was stunning, and everything met our expectations. We stayed in condo 124, and were very happy!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Mercedes
07/07/2023
Very nice stay !! I did not want to leave looking forward to returning !
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Stephanie J
06/24/2023
The resort in general seemed decently clean…well, honestly it was not. Our room on the other hand was definitely NOT clean. We left it much cleaner than it was when we arrived. With that being said, I think these units are individually owned, so each owner my have a different standard of cleanliness.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Michael
04/11/2023
I cannot imagine a building charging what they did being in worse condition. Even the windows in the hallway looked like they haven’t been cleaned in years. Huge disappointment on all fronts with the exception of location. Room was never cleaned in over a week but at least they did deliver towels after 4 days. The one positive…At least you could have options to go somewhere without a lot of effort.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Matthew
02/19/2023
Below average
There were empty pringals cans, caprisun, and food wrappers left in the room, a dirty spoon left in the sink. When mentioned to staff, I was told if you ever decide to give us another try let me know at check in and I will take care of you, but no notes were placed in the system or anything. It was an inconvenience for her to hear my issue. The room was a 2 bedroom condo with a parking garage, and the parking garage on level 4 has holes in the floor near a joint in the floor that allows you to see to the level below. There is an adult sandals bar right beside the front door so if you are there with kids like us just a warning. There were drunk people all over the lobby at checkin. The room did show 3 twin beds but there were 2, which wasn't a big deal for us. Overall won't stay there again but it was doable for 1 night for us.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Arpana
02/19/2023
Disappointing
The hotel had a hard time finding our reservation. We had a special request to be on the higher floor. But at check in, we were moved from the sister property where we originally reserved to accommodate us since they found the reservation at the last minute from check in. The check in rep - Ashley (I think that was her name) was very rude and bluntly told me I can get a refund since I wasn’t happy at check in. She didn’t even try to help accommodate find a better room for me saying they were full. I didn’t drive 6 hours to deal with that rude attitude. Not sure how she even has a job to deal with customers. Definitely not the type of person to be dealing with customer. I asked for a supervisor and Logan tried to help. The room were stuck with was outdated, had broken furniture, had a dirty microwave, had no plates or pans in the 2 bedroom suite with full kitchen. We waited 4 hours to get plates to our room. We had to go out and eat. The dining table chairs were ripped and there was mold all around the walls. The suite itself is roomy, but it’s very outdated.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Tyler
02/16/2023
The entire condo needs work. Carpets are disgusting. Only provided decaf coffee. Nothing to wash dishes with. No paper towels. On the 7th floor above the bar and it was loud all night long from bar patrons. Hallway and condo always smelled like marijuana and cigarettes.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Kay
01/15/2023
Renter beware
The property is old and not maintained. Common areas and adequate, however rooms are less than desirable. Wallpaper peeling, walls are rotted behind. There was paper thin towels and NO SHOWER CURTAIN. Missing baseboards. Refrigerator was rusted on the side that faces the hallway. Black dirt/mold around air vent and ceiling. Will not be back
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Angie
11/28/2022
Property had some repair options that need to be addressed. The balcony door handle was broken and several light bulbs were burnt out.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Bruce
10/31/2022
Quite resort
Check in was a little confusing. We had to check in at the other sands
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Sallie
09/08/2022
Beach trip
The property was old. We had a bit of difficulties with the condo during our stay. The front door was difficult to get to shut properly. You had to shut it at least twice to get it to latch. The TVs had difficulties you had to power off the cable box each day if you actually wanted to have sound. The dishwasher made loud noises when it was running. The sliding glass door did not lock from the living room, you needed to use a stick and run the risk of locking yourself on the balcony. The furniture was old and stained. The fitness center did not open until 8am, that is well past the time I like to workout. We would not stay at this location again.
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Sirlene
08/13/2022
the apartment was very dirty, the furniture like the sofa was disgusting I didn't like anything about this apartment.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
lisa
06/28/2022
Disappointed
Unfortunately, the sign in details were not clear. We arrived at Sands Beach Club on Thursday only to find out that no one was on duty to check us in. After calling there after hours telephone number, then calling hotels.com did we learn that we must check in with Sands Ocean Club down the street. The television in one of the bedrooms did not work and there was no linen for the sleeper sofa; we had to take linen from the twin beds and put on the sleeper for our granddaughters. The condo needs updating, but the beach and weather was excellent.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Mark
02/22/2022
Loved the view.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Maria
01/01/2022
Location
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Jason
12/30/2021
It had a nice view.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
JOSEPH
12/19/2021
I liked the decor and coziness of the condo. I didn't like that there was not a shower curtain or door in the master bathroom.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Patrick
12/03/2021
Loved that you could step out of building directly onto beach. We were in room 928. Being a corner unit on the 9th floor there were great views. But the unit needs work. The dead bolt on the front door wouldn't latch and neither would the sliding glass door from the living room or bedroom. The dishwasher isn't bolted down. Ice maker in fridge barely made ice.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Kathlyn
11/29/2021
The room was clean. But the kitchen area needs some tlc. One of the cabinets door was off. Looks like been off for awhile.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Jim
10/14/2021
This place was a really fun stay. Checking in was a pain as we had to check in in a building that was about an eighth of a mile away and we had to call from the lobby of the building we stayed in to ask where to check in. After we'd already unloaded all our stuff. One building was fenced off for some kind of upcoming construction so driving in was also a little confusing. Other than that this place was fantastic. We had a unit overlooking the beach which was beautiful. The buiding had a bar and restaurant with really good food and drinks. So good we ate dinner there both nights and Keith our bartender, can't say enough good things about him. We really enjoyed our time here and are already planning a return trip next year.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Charles
10/12/2021
Units are showing their age. Beachfront properties get used hard, and utility type fixtures don't hold up well. But not a total turn off.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
10/04/2021
Bait and switch!
Do not book this hotel if you are expecting it to be "oceanfront" as advertised in the pictures and descriptions. Looks nothing like the pictures and is ocean view at best!
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
10/04/2021
HORRIBLE!!
We arrived with our email confirmation and was told we did not have a reservation. The guy at check-in said it would be at least 10 minutes while he figured things out. Ended up taking 30 minutes to get checked in. Was told we were given an upgrade for the troubles. By the time we parked and got to our room we were in a one bedroom instead of a 2 bedroom we had reserved online. Mind you this was almost an hour after our arrival due to problems at checkin, no direction as were to park and not telling us our room was in the building next door. The paper we signed said $145 per night but we were charged $200 through hotels.com
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Malinda
10/04/2021
Area is fantastic. Stayed here for years, requested higher floor, we were placed on first floor. The friendly, helpful staff moved us to 9th. Sometimes you get a great unit, sometimes not. This one was worn and dated. Not the cleanest.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Gregg
09/21/2021
The condo itself was VERY rundown. No coffee supplied, no paper towels, no dish cleaning items. Some of the flatware was rusted etc. The building was in better shape, the view was fantastic, and the on-site restaurant was amazing.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
michael
09/11/2021
No toilet paper. Bathroom sink faucet leaks . Dining room table very unstable. Beds very uncomfortable. Bed in 2nd bedroom is concave.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Tyson
06/25/2021
Not so good unit. Great location.
The unit that we stayed in needs a good amount of TLC. Beds were very uncomfortable worn mattresses. Headboard in the room with the twin beds was falling off of the wall creating a safety concern. Peeling paint and wallpaper. The floors in the kitchen, living area, and bathrooms were dirty. The unit is in need of upgrades. Disappointed considering the price. View of the ocean and the surrounding area was great.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
04/27/2021
The room accommodations were good. But the furniture and room was out of date.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
03/05/2021
The room was a little dated and should have been much cleaner.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Porscha
03/04/2021
Never again
The room had an odor. The furniture was had stains. The floors wasn’t vacuumed stuff was still on the floors. My children wasn’t comfortable going to sleep on the beds.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
03/01/2021
This was great for a weekend getaway. The staff was wonderful. The hotel was in good condition. Just dated.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Kim
09/08/2020
The place was nasty! Shower curtains was nasty sliding glass was too furniture was nasty and old carpet was dirty.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Barbara
09/08/2020
ould like a refund
First we received a room the holes in walls and couch’s torn and the whole place smelled. This was on floor 4 but no way could we stay there - I was afraid to sit down, seriously. The worst place I have ever seen. So I went down to the hotel and they put me in a first floor room right next to beach ram ( right in front of balcony. Things were incredibly loud right there until midnight! This room seemed to be cleaner although when you can’t sleep because of noise it becomes a huge issue. I would like a partial refund!
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
03/03/2020
I didn't like anything that I seen. The building itself was under construction. The room had an awful smell upon entry. The floors were stained. The refrigerator seemed as if it had molding inside. Just an old building that needs some serious work.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Patrice
03/01/2020
I liked the ocean view. I didn't like the search we had to do to find the room. I didnt like how the room didn't have hot water and the staff told me at first they didn't have another room to move me and my kids to. But the mantience guy help with us moving to another room. The 1st room lights didn't work the room didn't look like the pictures online and hot water didn't work, There were 2 small tvs in there as well. I wanted the money back but after water from hotel to hotel trying to find the right place my family became very tired so we went with the 2nd room. Very disappointed!
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
12/05/2019
The area and location the rooms need a little work
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
09/03/2019
I loved the location and view from my room. But that was about it. Room was very out dated and dirty. Looked nothing like what I booked
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Carmen
08/26/2019
I am very pleased with our stay! The room was updated and so cozy! Few minor issues but nothing that would keep me from coming back!
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
07/21/2019
The on beach property / view was nice but the room was outdated. The coffee maker didn’t work- the refrigerator leaked and there was no one on site who would give you change for the laundry machines. The check in desk was a few properties down so it was a pain to address any of these problems since it was a hike to the office. The property the office was located in was crowded and trashy.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Ericia
06/09/2019
It was ok
This stay was only for 1 day. The front desk was absolutely wonderful, the the room itself was the problem, it was clean but it ft like it had been some time since someone had slept in it for a while. The TV in the 2nd room was so small it was ridiculous, better luck next time.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
06/02/2019
It was very nice and clean I wil be visiting again very soon
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
04/27/2019
My room was in horrible conditions could not even stay got there late and I decided to just sleep in car with my 4 children instead that’s how bad it was got my money back and stayed in car until next morning where I got a way better deal from a different location
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
04/22/2019
Property was beautiful and had a secluded feeling, but was conveniently located near grocery store, shops, restaurants etc. The amenities were great for families with different age children! Will definitely stay at this resort again!
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
brittany
04/01/2019
Nice but read fine print and needs new mattresses
Condo was clean. Kitchen and one room was updated. Room with twin beds could use updated beds and bedding. Beds weren’t too comfortable. Couch bed needs a new mattress. Paper towels aren’t supplied at all. I had to ask for dish soap to clean dishes... which meant I had go to back to the office which isn’t on site. That’s one of the things I most disliked. It would have been nice to have the office on site. But overall the stay was nice. Balcony was a good size, and overlooked the ocean. The room was clean. The beach wasn’t too busy and clean. Pool and hot tub were nice. If we had been staying longer then a day.... it would have been a nice spot, except for the u comfy beds.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
04/01/2019
It has plenty of rooms. Kind of difficult to know where to go check in.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
David
02/22/2019
Great view but room questionable
The first room 827 was privately owned and looked like it wa out of the 80’s. Dirty carpet, wallpaper coming off walls, furniture fabric dirty. I requested another room. Was given another room to look at that was not ocean front 205. It was very good and updated but not ocean view. So third room on 5th floor ocean front, privately owned was in much better condition. The other big problem is you can’t check in and get your keys at this resort. You have to down the street at the other resort they owned to get checked in. So I made 3 trips back and forth for an hour to get on room that I was happy with. However, the front desk was very kind and helpful.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Goose
02/17/2019
Finding the correct location to check in was an ordeal. I had to call so they could guide me in the last 0.1 mile. No pillows or spread on the bed. Cabinets and carpets heavily worn but clean. Great location and room layout.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Bobby
01/03/2019
Vacation
It went horrible at first room had issues tv's couch etc.i call the hotel they made it right right away,i give the service an AAA i be visiting again thanks Sands.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Kimberly
01/02/2019
Housekeeping?
The view, location and amenities were great! However, the couch had stains all over it. We were missing our shower curtain and there were dirty linens left from a previous guest.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Dominic
08/31/2018
Great place for a quiet vacation. Discrete employees and room service is done efficiently every day. The condos are equipped with all the necessary. I will surely return and bring new guests
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Steve
08/01/2018
Well the dishes was nasty the dishwasher stunk unreal. The pull out bed mattress was filthy. Appliances are very old.
5/5 Excellent
Vrbo verified review
Heather B.
07/18/2018
Love this place
We absolutely loved it! Beds were very comfortable and a lot of room. Thank you
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
06/19/2018
Nice location right on the beach. Free parking and teaspoonfuls is a plus. The property needs to be updated and leaking roof and peeling paint needs to be fixed. Units are not stuck with proper use and Susan cleaning equipment
5/5 Excellent
Vrbo verified review
Sanquetta D.
04/22/2018
Nice
Bed was very uncomfortable but the location and view is great
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Gary
04/13/2018
Spring Break 2018
Overall I’d give a 7 out of 10. We enjoyed our stay and would probably go back.Room was decent, a little dated. Sand in the one of the bath tubs. Facility were nice. Kids liked the indoor pool and very close to Apache Pier for fishing. My only disappointment was when I booked the suite through AARP/Expedia, it was supposed to accommodate 7 people ( actually said up to 8 people.) There was only sleeping accommodations for 6 people which put one of the kids on the floor. They was no option for a roll in bed or cot.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Amy
04/09/2018
I booked this and was told the room would be ready at 4 PM. They gave us our keys and the room had not been cleaned. We had to go back to the desk and could not get into our room for another 2 hours. I ask for a refund of some sort for the inconvenience because I had my child with me. They told me just because they said the room would be ready....didn't really mean the room would be ready and that they would not give me a refund.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Joseph
04/07/2018
Wow!
My stay was fine but the rooms were awful. The first room we checked into had a clogged dishwasher with a pungent moldy smell and visual mold on the dishwasher door. The second room had a strong raw seafood smell that we never could get rid of. The towel racks were loose and could not support the towels. We returned to the room after a day on the beach to find the floor flooded with water. We were told by maintenance that the hot water heater above us had a line break that came through our ceiling. Service was good and half of the money refunded. I'm satisfied with that but will never stay there again.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Taquanda
03/29/2018
Quanda
This Motel I will Never stay at, Motel was not clean, bed was broken and two table chairs was broken, also overpriced
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Jamma
02/26/2018
Disappointed
the rooms were not clean, one shower was broken, one shower had no shower curtain, the sliding door to the balcony was bolted shut due to work on the building. Who wants to stay ocean from and not be able to go on the balcony????
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
02/26/2018
It was a nice very roomy unit.
Our experience was somewhat of a challenge. We had to go to a different hotel to check in because our hotel Sands Beach Club is under renovations. We didn't realize this until we parked and asked someone at our hotel where to check in. So we got back in the car and drove a few doors down to the other hotel to get the room keys. We proceed to unload the vehicle and bring all the luggage up to the room, open the door and find other people are in the room. Not a good experience. So we take everything back to the car and reload and drive back to the other hotel. Clearly the other people had called the front desk as they were waiting for us to return. Ok, so we get another room key; drive back to our hotel; unload again and then we finally get into our room. At this point we were just glad to have a room. We liked the room; but I believe the staff may need some additional training.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
02/26/2018
Sands Beach Club Feb 2018
Stayed at this hotel last year. Came back this year. They are currently doing construction on the building. Was down in MB for golf so it wasn't a problem. If you are staying there all day it might be distracting. Overall you can't beat the price to be on the beach. It isn't a Westin, but you ain't paying Westin prices. Perfect was 4 guys playing golf all day and coming back to place to relax and watch the beach from the balcony.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
sheila
10/06/2017
Short stay
Nice hotels under renovation. We enjoyed our stay and will come back again.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Wanda
08/30/2017
Booked the room for 4 nights but the room was so bad left after the first night!!
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Alejamdro
07/25/2017
Nice hotel at the beach
Check in process was confusing. We need to receive instructions in advance. No counter desk. There is one but in a different hotel/location. We arrived late and did not what to do. Location of the hotel is the best but it needs some work on the beds. They had a weird sound like very old beds. Overall it was a good experience.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Billy
07/23/2017
View is main thing I was wanting.
Nice hotel, just had a couple maintenance issues when we walked in. Beds was uncomfortable for a suite. Overall layout of room was nice and view was amazing. Just need a serious remodeling and it will be one of the nicest hotels on Myrtle Beach.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
04/16/2017
Dirty!!
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Timeshella
02/28/2017
Disappointed
First I'd like to say that I've stayed at this resort several times and have enjoyed my stay. However my most recent experience started out horrible. I booked with Sands Beach Club, instead of sands ocean club due to lack of availability according to hotels.com . After approaching the front desk I learned that the room I booked and reserved was not available. The front desk clerk Logan stated that he would be willing to accommodate me at the sister Hotel Sands ocean club of the website allowed me. Needless to say my son, fiance, and I spent 2 hours downstairs waiting on this issue to resolve. I'm not sure who was at fault, but I felt humiliated and cheated. We traveled to South Carolina for a family weekend, lost a day and it made Saturday a day full of cramming in things. This was my worst hotel check in experience ever. The front desk manager Tiffany, saved the day! If she didn't step in when she did...we would have been returning home. Hotels.com needs to better communicate with hotels so this doesn't happen again in the future.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Steve
12/09/2016
Extensive remodeling.
Jack hammers everywhere with no warning. Expedia failed on this one.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Shannon
06/11/2016
Would never stay here again.
The room was horrible. 827- the stove was a danger-the burners were literally hanging off the top of the stove, (we didn't even use it-too afraid), the Lamenet was coming off the top of the master dresser, the glass sliding door in the master wouldn't close all the way, there were water stains running down the walls, the refrigerator was leaking water all over the kitchen floor, the master tv didn't work, the safe didn't work, no sheets left for sofa bed.... If I didn't bring my 4 kids, I would have packed my stuff back up and left, but we had no where to go and drove 13 hours to get there. Highly discusted and let down.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
04/09/2016
nice place for the summer
It's a nice place to stay during the summer. There wasn't any staff at the place. You had to drive up the road o talk to someone. When I first got there, the room keys didn't work, so I had to drive back up the road to get new room keys. The room was nice and the beds were ok. Another thing about the place it that you had to go outside to go to the pool. Nice basketball and tennis court. Other than that, it was nice and windy.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
04/09/2016
Very private
The stay was great Liked the location. Need to put sign up at Hotel telling about where to check in at.Would stay again
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
03/16/2016
Average at best
Extremely close to the ocean which was awesome, however even myself being a local for 12 years in Myrtle Beach ... good luck navigating this area! There are no decent maps showing what building or even floor has what ( in terms of amenities) and the buildings exteriors are lack luster at best. In desperate need of cosmetic updates !!!
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
RITA A
12/04/2015
R & R fun
My family and I come to Myrtle Beach every year for Thanksgiving. We always go to a seafood buffet and Black Friday shop. It is great for relaxation prior to the Christmas holidays.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
William
11/29/2015
Nice hotel on the Beach, clean sandy beach
This hotel was right at the water's edge, Easy parking, but this time of the year their restaurant, bar was closed. Pool area was clean and the hot tub was nice. The day we were to leave there was only one elevator working so it was slow getting to pack up for trip home
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
09/29/2015
Loved the location and friendly staff but that's about it
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
08/19/2015
DISSATISFIED!!!
Obviously hit or miss and we missed by a mile. Never have I been more afraid to use a commode. The only redeeming quality was the fantastic view of the ocean. The room was filthy, we had to call twice for sheets, and the unit was in horrible shape. Holes in the walls, windows white with salt film, I could go on and on. Some units are obviously well maintained - but ours was not one of them. So much for pre-paying, non-refundable reservations...
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Aaronc23
08/10/2015
Nice being right on the beach
Pretty good overall would have rated higher but room was pretty dirty to my standard and room service delivery guy was ignorant and rude but front desk was really nice and check in and out was smooth the view from the room was as advertised and being right on the beach was great and convenient I would stay there again if I could be assured of having cleaner rooms next time
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
08/05/2015
Great stay. Housekeeping staff are great
Pullout sofa bed in this particular condo was very uncomfortable. Everything else about our stay was great
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Derrick
07/23/2015
Not pleased
The hotel seemed run down some not up kept the keys quit working everyday had to get new ones at a different location because lobby at our resort wasn't helpful and rude the restaurant in the resort was way over priced for what they served and was awful
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
07/22/2015
I had to call house keeping to have it cleaned up. One of the kitchen cabinet's door was falling down broken. The kitchen was not very well equipped for regular cooking. There was only 2 pots and they were very old with crusted bottoms in the inside. I did like the location of the hotel!!!
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
BETINA A.
07/22/2015
Loved how the motel was on the beach front more so than the other beach motels. Like the 5th floor pool
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
07/14/2015
We had a great trip. The hotel was wonderful. The only down side was weak WiFi.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
kp
07/07/2015
Ocean Front
The first night the room was awful. Wall paper was pealing off, plaster sanded but not painted, furniture was particle board and coming apart. They did move us into a nicer room the rest of our stay. We had to practically beg for new towels each day and room was never cleanedbduring our stay. We are supposed to have the 1st night competed.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
07/06/2015
The room we were given was in bad shape. Dirty carpet and curtains. Broken/worn out furniture in the common area.
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Tami
06/27/2015
Not for the obsessive compulsive person
Upon arrival at the Sands resort, we were notified that our room would not be ready for check in until "closer to 4." So, we were invited to enjoy the sand, pool and ocean until that time. We did so. At about 3:45pm we returned to see if we could check in. No luck. Room was still not ready. I asked "but it will be ready by 4, right?" and was greeted only with a smile. At 4, when I approached the check in desk, I was informed that they were going to just change my room assignment to one similar because the room was still not ready. I agreed. I was given a set of electronic keys. My family went to our room, but were unable to get into the room. The keys would not work. We drove back to desk and did so back and forth 3 times before we got a set of keys that worked. Finally, we were able to get in our room, only to find THIS room was also not cleaned. After over an HOUR of trying, when we finally gained access to our room, it was dirty! Finally, the manager helped and we were able to get a room, but the check in process was terrible.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
06/13/2015
Good, nice and relaxing. Nice view and good location not crowded
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Jacqueline
05/29/2015
Our Stay at Sands Beach Club Resort
Overall it was ok we look forward to staying there again. We only received housekeeping one day after that no one came by we gad to take our own trash out and clean our own bathrooms. We had no stay over service as we were supposed to but we made the best of it anyway. We look forward to re-booking it for next year. Thanks for all your help.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Verified traveler
05/26/2015
Great location
We visited during Memorial Day weekend. The location is on a quiet street, but is close enough to all the attractions. The room was great for my needs. My only complaint is that the check in is at a separate location. There is also no check out policies, which I thought was odd. I called the number I was given and was told I could leave the keys in the room when I was ready to go. Also odd, I thought.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Val
04/11/2015
Hotel on the beach
The hotel was under construction in some areas which made me feel a bit distracted. It seems they should have had this done prior to busy season.The hotel did not have my registration on file which aggravated me since we drove 6 hours to get there. We had to wait for about 15 mins after check in for them to retrieve it. I have to admit I was expecting more. The staff was really nice and very accommodating which was nice. If you are looking for an average hotel experience this is it.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Gabby
04/06/2015
No light bulb
There was no working light in one of our rooms. I asked for them to replace and they didn't. We stayed for two days and my kids had to be in a room with no light. The staff made sure they let us know they had a problem with the golf cart we rented being there but couldn't even bring a light bulb then. And the sofa sleeper had no sheet. Only thing I like was the location but I definitely wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Nick
04/05/2015
Terrible place
Dirty units and common area, broken furniture, no indoor pool, no service, and list goes on. Most disappointing stay ever.
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Harold
12/05/2014
Don't stay here
Very dirty. light bulbs out. mold and mildew. Just disgusting
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Lori
10/24/2014
Nice sandy beach
We asked for two rooms with queen beds in each, we got two rooms with one queen and two twin beds. 3 out of the four lights in the bathroom were burnt out and we had to put new ones in. Rooms had pealing paint missing a towel bar and the kitchen was not equipped at all ( not even a coffee maker).
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Ross
10/15/2014
Disgusting
I am in the military and have had to stay in some pretty shabby places worldwide; however, when it comes to my family, this place was unacceptable! The greasy carpet we were able to ignore, but the amount of black mold forming on the ceiling and wallpaper was too much to turn a blind-eye to. It takes a certain level of disregard for the customer and carelessness to allow that amount of black mold!!! If it wasnt for its location on the beach this trip would have been miserable! So...long story short, the ONLY good thing about our stay was the beach and attractions.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Dr. Gwyndolan Swain
08/22/2014
Not very impressive
We were very disappointed with the level of customer service we received during our stay in your facility. The front desk person seemed very young in a knowledgeable. The person we were referred to to explain the welcome package to was absolutely rude and unconcerned when she discovered we were there for one night. As soon as we indicated we be there for one night she picked up her cell phone and immediately started speaking to someone on the cell phone and ignoring us completely. We request the towels and the person who brought them up was darn right nasty. Based on this level of the lack an extremely poor customer service we will not be frequenting this resort ever again. Also the furnitshings were old and outdated.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Familylawgirl
07/27/2014
Sands Resorts ... and Timeshare
The Sands Beach Club is comprised of two buildings. They have "hotel condos" timeshares and private owners. Having all these management companies was an issue for getting things done as well as amenities. Having said that, it is a nice location! Secluded and the room was nice. We had a two BR and 2 BA with a full kitchen and beautiful ocean view. There are two small pools (one is both indoor and outdoor), they were chilly even in July. There is a basketball court and tennis court, but we never found out how to get a ball or racquet's. There is a fitness room but we didn't check it out. The beach was fantastic, clean and spacious. Be aware that the front view is lined with umbrellas and chairs that you have to rent from the lifeguard or you sit behind them. You can move in front without an umbrella though. Also, no plastic floats are allowed in the ocean. The only bad thing about this resort is that people smoke every where! At the pools, the beach, the bar/restaurant, etc. Other than that you are good to go. We plan to go back next year!
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
OhioOceanBound
07/26/2014
Not bad, but not great
The room was OK, but in need of some minor cosmetic repairs. The beds desperately need to be replaced! They were stained, lumpy, and very squeaky. The view of the ocean was great from the patio. Be aware, the photos on Expedia are misleading. Many of the activities pictured are available, and some are even free, but are either at other hotels (like the lazy river) or are completely off-premise. While it's nice to have a healthy selection of complimentary activities available, we had no interest in any of them and would have preferred a reduced price instead.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
A Hughes
07/26/2014
great vacation
Good place to stay with a family. Location is great for shopping.