4.4/5 Good
1182 reviews
Amenities
4.4/5
Cleanliness
4.4/5
Comfort
4.4/5
Condition
4.4/5
Service
4.4/5

Most Recent Reviews

1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Pravin
11/20/2023
It was my husband's birthday and we came for only1 night stay to celebrate his birthday. The room offered to us was very small, had no balcony whereas in the website it says all the guest rooms have balcony, it was never mentioned to us while booking that our room has no balcony, I asked them twice on check-in and they said yes, but was given a small room, later at night i realized that our room had no balcony. also which hotel starts testing fire alarm from 9 am in the morning, especially guests coming for 1 night, could have informed earlier, our full trip was messed up. we had to wake up early and check out because the noise was very very loud. I will never recommend this property to anyone.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Christopher J
11/19/2023
We didnt get to spend a lot of time here as we were out doing stuff but the beds were good the view from the balcony was amazing, the room was clean and great sized. Had 0 issues and will book again and hopefully spend more time here as what we seen was amazing!
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Alina
11/18/2023
Amara Cay is a great resort, my stay was great and the free shuttle that runs within the area was a major plus. The property could use some upgrades in the building, so I gave that 4/5. The amenities are great but the hotel itself is alright- not bad but not excellent.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Elizabeth
11/12/2023
Beautiful view from room, shuttle service was convenient, Q was great at the front desk. However the gelato bars that were NOT labeled with a price and were $25.00 for two and charged to our room were not worth it. Rooms need some updates. Our bathroom door needed to be replaced due to major water damage. Property was beautiful inside and out.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
11/12/2023
Very friendly staff. Super comfortable mattress.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Todd
11/08/2023
Absolutely beautiful
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Angela
11/07/2023
Wow! It was just like the pictures. Very relaxing and clean. Friendly staff!
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Sean
11/05/2023
Clean property. Great staff and service. Breakfast was very good. The daily $40 activity fee is high.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Eduardo
10/30/2023
Excellent location. Properties were just as described. Had a wonderful time.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Douglas
10/28/2023
Was just Ok
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Yvonne
10/27/2023
Loved the pool and poolside bar. Food was excellent .
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Kelly
10/23/2023
Loved the onsite bars and pool!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Mary
10/23/2023
This is the second time we have stayed. The property is beautiful. Lots of amenities.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
John
10/19/2023
Very nice property. Everything was good no complaints.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Robert Leo
10/17/2023
Place was just as described!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Farris
10/17/2023
Awesome resort!!
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Marcus
10/16/2023
Great hotel, second time staying there. Very nice pool area with tiki bar. This year we brought our small boat down, used the ramp, rented a slip. The ramp is tight, so needs to be a pretty small boat, ours is a 17’ Whaler and worked perfectly.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Suranys
10/15/2023
The bar waiters ask for a tip, for me the tip depends on the service they may request. Otherwise, all good. The services of the breakfast and dinner was great 😊
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Sam
10/14/2023
Wonderful time at Amara Key. Just a note to recognize the front desk sisters 'T' and 'Q.' They went above and beyond in making my trip enjoyable. All of you stay safe this hurricane season!
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Ana M
10/13/2023
The property looks much better in pictures than in real life. I was a bit disappointed.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Nafeeza
10/13/2023
Very beautiful resort highly recommend
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Cheryl
10/05/2023
Very pleasant staff in all situations. The wrist band keys… best thing ever! Still in some processes of updating but not inteusive.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Ona
10/03/2023
There was an haste with a double booking . Manager assistance was non existent. I had to rectify the situation myself The phone in our room did not work Very noisy and loud early morning guests in rooms and hallway
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jeff
10/02/2023
Just a fabulous place to stay for a relaxing vacation.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Zuylen
09/29/2023
It is a peaceful environment, all the amenities are excellent. The staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you for the service.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
MARLEN
09/25/2023
we love the hotel and the staff
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
yelenys
09/22/2023
LOVE THIS PLACE
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Milo
09/20/2023
Great place, have stayed here 5 times and great every time.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Michael Darryl
09/20/2023
It was nice and pleasant. Would recommend!
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Maria Del Carmen
09/20/2023
Very good everything in the hotel, the service,the pool, front desk, clean
1/5
Hotels.com verified review
Marc
09/18/2023
Awful “4 star” hotel.
Let me start off by saying I typically don’t leave reviews, but I wanted to warn other travelers about this property. This has to be the absolute worst “four-star“ hotel I’ve ever stayed in in my life —the room was dingy and moldy, all the outdoor furniture by the pool, the chairs and umbrellas were completely trashed and falling apart. The staff did not monitor people playing their own loud music competing with the pools music. This place was awful. The only redeeming quality is the pool bar food was decent. Honest feedback. We will not be back. Ever!!!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Brian
09/18/2023
Liked evrything! but the coffee machine. But that was resolved.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Jasymin
09/18/2023
Weekend Getaway
The staff was welcoming. The rooms well very nice and the grounds were beautiful. I just wish they had more food options.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Paul
09/16/2023
stay was great. waited an hour for check-in due to short staff. painting was going on in our hallway but did not mind. everything else was clean and neat. received several text on phone asking if they can do anything for us which we found nice. stay was 2 nights
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Roxana
09/13/2023
Awesome stay!
We had an amazing time for our baby moon trip! Service was super attentive and kind and we really enjoyed all the amenities! We would come back :)
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Dane
09/13/2023
The piped in elevator music 24/7 was annoying. The pool was nice
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Amanda
09/10/2023
The workers in the pool area have a crappy service, they don't like to serve the guest. The restaurant chefs are crap, I ordered a ceviche and the ceviche was past its time. Front Desk the best service, Thanks. The bike rental girl and other services, excellent. Thanks
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Daniel
09/09/2023
Bed was very uncomfortable. Room price was too high for what we got. Wont return for more than $300 per night
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Linda
09/07/2023
Without any hesitation, Amara Cay and the Postcard Inn receive a 5 star rating in our opinion. Not only was the service impeccable, but the resort amenities, cleanliness of the rooms and disposition of the staff were a 5 , as well. I would highly recommend it without reservation, and I will undoubtedly make a return visit in the future. Thank you for everything, and hope to see you soon.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Maria
09/04/2023
Excellent customer service excellent atmosphere
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Carla
09/03/2023
I purchased an upgraded room with a view. I was given a low floor parking lot. I called down and left on hold for 20 min. So I walked down and had an incredibly rude encounter with a woman with a stained shirt who seemed frazzled. My check in was a friendly man, I have stayed here many times, but this woman ended up being NASTY and rude. Not sure I will stay again.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Karena
08/30/2023
Check in horro
Pre check in was great and associate was great but before check in they wanted to move me to lower rated sister hotel because the overbooked.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Kenia
08/28/2023
We spent a few wonderful days with the family, we will undoubtedly visit it more often and recommend it to our family and friends
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Stanislaw
08/27/2023
location
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
juan
08/26/2023
everything was very excelent
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Sierra
08/26/2023
Great experience! Front desk was super welcoming during check inn and check out
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Tazkia
08/25/2023
Loved every bit of the resort. Great view, nice and cozy ambience, clean and beautifully organized. Will definitely come back. Highly recommended!
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
andrea
08/23/2023
Disappointed
We were disappointed with the hotel. First appearances look good, reception and main area very nice. Nicely decorated, great views. However the landings on all floors need a jolly good update. This is a pet friendly hotel and smelt like wet dog throughout. The rooms were ok decor wise, but damp, air conditioning touch and go, hair dryer didn’t work, the rooms in need of updating. The rooms with partial sea views are better than the basic rooms on the back. The basic rooms were run down, air con very loud, old bath tubs ( discoloured ), again smelt of wet dog, and the beds whilst comfy were very old and need updating. To say I was upset with what we’d booked was an understatement. All in all this hotel is more like a 2 star than a 4star that’s for sure. The views though are to die for and the staff were really very kind and understanding. We were suppose to stay for 2 nights but due to having to change rooms, dampness and smell we decided to only stay the one night and pleased to say that the hotel allowed us to canx the 2nd night and refunded our money so we could move on. As mentioned before the staff were incredibly accommodating.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Henry
08/22/2023
We had a one bedroom oceanfront suite and the room was nice. The hallways looked like something from a crime scene with dirty walls and carpets. The pool was nice but not enough chairs. The beach area was nice. There were plenty of dining options within 10 minutes of the property. My big issue is that this property is way overpriced and the bill is extremely confusing and instead of one charge to your credit card at the end you have 2 or 3 charges which makes it really confusing especially if booked through expedia that only added to the confusion. I would recommend to people I know that they try and find a different place. This place could be so much better if they upgraded the amenities
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Laritza
08/17/2023
I didn’t like the room view , I had made a reservation of the room with view , but once I got there , I was told that it was not guaranteed. Nor effort were offered or made to accommodate my request .
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
David
08/14/2023
Great
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Raul
08/13/2023
Great hotel I ‘love recommend
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Cynthia J
08/12/2023
I loved absolutely everything about the Amara Cay Resort! The service was efficient but a laid back relaxing atmosphere. Really comfortable beds and large rooms. I will come back here again and again! One of my top three places to stay!
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Kathleen
08/11/2023
Front desk, housekeeping really great. Ate in restaurant, meals wrong & mold on food. TV didn’t work, “engineer” came to fix 3 times, he has no people skills, didn’t fix & blamed us, had to unplug wires to adj volume. Friends had no a/c, gave them a fan & says they were stuck with it, it was 95 out at night!!!!! We all left today, none of us had hot water. Sadly, wouldn’t recommend!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Joseph
08/11/2023
Am
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Christina
08/11/2023
The AC in my room was not working properly. It’s a nice hotel but not worth almost $400 a night.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Cheryl
08/09/2023
Absolutely fantastic. Have stayed at many places in Islamorada — by far my favorite. Huge pool. Never felt crowded even with lots of guests. Staff super friendly, anticipates your needs and provide info w/o need to ask. Huge variety of activities for young to old. Outside tiki bar and restaurant super.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Gavin
08/08/2023
Nice resort but food and drink not so good
We enjoyed our stay but we ate out every day. Had the breakfast on the first day and wasn’t impressed so ate out after that. We’re used to having breakfast included with the cost of our hotel stays so paying $60 a day extra is exhorbitant. On the last night we had some drinks. Service was very slow. Almost everything I asked for wasn’t available. The barman served my first two drinks then wandered off to serve someone else before getting my third drink so I had to wait around before I could take all the drinks to my family
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Alec
08/06/2023
Great amenities and very clean. Would definitely go back
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Craig
08/06/2023
The property was nice. The pool was not clean and very murky. The rooms were clean but need additional lighting. All in all it was a nice stay.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Rosana
08/05/2023
Beautiful and convenient area
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Robert
08/04/2023
Room wasn’t turned over when I arrived (at 10pm mind you). Had to wait 45 min to get it cleaned.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Eden Mari
08/03/2023
Everything was perfect
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Leandro
08/03/2023
Excellent resort for family vacation.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Naraith
08/03/2023
The AC in our suite made a lot of noise, disturbing sleep. The key to our room was delivered 45 minutes after 4 pm
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
David
08/01/2023
What a gem
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Stacey
07/29/2023
Great customer service, Que went above and beyond. Was disappointed at first about the sea wall, but you have access to 4 other properties with some beautiful beach front.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Arielle
07/28/2023
Beautiful resort!
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Simon
07/28/2023
Good Location - Needs Some TLC
The location is great; especially if you want to take your time visiting other keys. The pool is the main attraction, but unfortunately the hotel is showing too much mildew and water intrusion throughout the interiors. Our hotel room doors were completely rotted at the bottom from the high humidity that penetrates the building. The corridor foot traffic can be heard within the room especially when children are running up and down. The beds and pillows are incredibly uncomfortable with no options to choose from. The food is a sold "B-", but nothing incredible for the high price.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Alejandra
07/27/2023
Resort was very nice and the staff was great. Partial vuew is almost like having full ocean view. It was great.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Armando
07/27/2023
Great 👍
The property is beautiful and well kept. Went with the family and enjoyed all the amenities. Id definitely plan on returning.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Anita
07/27/2023
Happy they let us check in a little early and we were able to use all the resort’s amenities, even after we checked out the next day.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Meagan
07/26/2023
Nice facilities, fun resort options. Free paddle board and kayak rentals. Nice pool. Big, clean rooms. Would definitely stay again.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Deana
07/26/2023
Beautifl place, clean, nicely taken care of. Room was nicely decorated, only negitive was the bathroom light wasn’t very bright, may have had some lights out, worked around it.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Laura
07/26/2023
Really loved the atmosphere. Very inviting and the service was excellent. We ate dinner the first night and the food was great and my wife loved breakfast. We be back again
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Carlos
07/24/2023
Celebrated our 27th Anniversary. Reception by Nathalie was great, we were comped a bottle of champagne, room was clean, and the the housekeeping staff was excellent the entire stay. Outside bar area was good, bar staff seemed a little overwhelmed but wasn’t bad. Hotel offers a shuttle to area attractions which was a nice amenity. The driver, Jayquan was great as was one of the managers, “Q”, who also delivered excellent service. Needs a little updating and a little pricey for what it is, and $40-$45 resort fee is steep for this class of hotel, but Amara Cay is still a good choice and we had a good time.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Amy
07/24/2023
Very nice
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Kimberly Landes
07/24/2023
We loved our stay at Amara Cay! The grounds around the property are beautiful and there is so much to do. We hope to return again in the near future!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Matthew
07/20/2023
The staff was very friendly and accommodating with every request we made. Clean resort with a great restaurant and bar.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Susan
07/17/2023
Came to Amara Cay for our 20th anniversary. Room wasn’t available when we arrived but we were able to use the pool, tiki bar and beach. We were texted when room was ready. Nice bottle of champagne with card as a welcome was a lovely touch. View from room could have been better but the room itself was very comfortable. Overall happy with our stay.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Wendy
07/16/2023
Overall I wanted to stay longer. The property, lobby, our room, the pool and beach were all lovely. The front desk and kayak/paddle board were so helpful, kind and accommodating. My only complaint, and this is my first time complaining about any place..were the bartenders by the pool. Each day they actively avoided taking care of people in our party. They would stand right in front of me knowing I wanted to order and ignore me. It would be so much better to friendly acknowledge and then come back. They refused to give water To our teenage daughters, told them to use the dispenser in the lobby (which has tiny cups…It was 92 degrees.I would like to recommend that you put big jugs of water on the pool bar like postcard inn has, with cups. The lobby bartender was lovely. My
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Marilia
07/13/2023
Beautiful property! Unfriendly front desk
The check in was fast but the woman working at the front desk was very, very unfriendly! I might not go back to the property because of the way we were treated! Also the room was cleaned with so much Clorox it was hard to breathe! Very toxic smell!
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Michael
07/12/2023
Tv remote broke, said they would replace and no one came, i called the next day same response no one came. The walls were real thin, can hear everything in the next room, very hard to sleep. Toilet paper holder was broken, was disappointing
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Mark
07/10/2023
Nice clean and quiet place.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
John
07/10/2023
Beautiful place and great staff!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Amanda
07/09/2023
Great resort. Beautiful views
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Jodie
07/08/2023
Bad bad bad service
The resort itself isn’t bad. But man service at restaurant, bar and front desk is horrible. Because of that I wouldn’t stay again.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Aaron
07/07/2023
Very relaxing atmosphere. Do wish the restaurant, bar were open later than 10 pm
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Jerome
07/07/2023
Nice property Friendly staff Free parking Centrally located in the Keys for day trips to Key West or Miami.The resort is connected to three other resorts where you can go and use their facilities. There is a $40 a day resort fee. Courtesy shuttle is available for local trips.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Brad
07/05/2023
The property was beautiful. The staff was amazing …very laid-back .. beautiful pool and beach area
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Richard
07/05/2023
The floor in our room was dirty. The bathrooms are so small you can’t comfortably get 2 people in them. Cleaning staff shows up at 4pm to clean our room. $40 “resort fee” per day for water and paddle boards? It’s just a money grab. Would not return.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Lina P.
07/05/2023
Great property, well kept the staff is amazing and they maintain a very safe family friendly environment. We love this place!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Ikbel
07/03/2023
Very friendly staff
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
tara
07/02/2023
I was here back in 2020, pre covid and it was amazing. However, service has went downhill quite a bit.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jack
07/01/2023
The place is set up well for families or couples. Get the water view rooms if you want the privacy from the rest of the resort.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Terry
07/01/2023
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay…especially the pool and location on the property!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Alexandra
06/29/2023
Beautiful stay
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Janet
06/29/2023
Our ocean view from the balcony was over the parking lot!! We could see the ocean and loudmouths in the parking lot. Pretty expensive room for the view.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Matheus
06/28/2023
Nice resort with high end finishes and great decoration, it feels you are indeed in a 4 start resort. Food was ok, classic American fast food, I missed more sophisticated dish options Amenities were ok, nothing out of this world, I missed a Jacuzzi though. The peace and quietness surrounding the property is remarkable They dont have enough kayaks to accommodate all the guests and you may have to wait a long time to use it In the overall it was a great experience
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Richard
06/26/2023
Great location
Great location. Staff and property were perfect.