4.4/5 Good
885 reviews
Amenities
4.2/5
Cleanliness
4.5/5
Comfort
4.3/5
Condition
4.2/5
Neighborhood
4.5/5
Service
4.6/5
Recommendation
89.8/100

Most Recent Reviews

3/5
Expedia Group verified review
June
04/20/2024
The commode was too close to wall and closet way too big.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
John
04/14/2024
I travel to Islamorada every few months to go diving with Key Dives. I usually stay at Amara Cay or Hawks Cay which are closer to the dive shop, and often overpriced - even this time of year (April) for FL residents. LaJolla is comfortable, quiet, has great beach area and docks, plus kayaks, swimming, and lots of beach chairs. Ver relaxing, and $100 cheaper!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
James
04/07/2024
Old but updated nicely. Very clean!
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
adrian
04/06/2024
Manatee watching
Wonderful 2night stay. Saw a family of manatees in the bay
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Lucia
04/06/2024
Excellent
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Joshua
04/05/2024
We stayed for one night. Clean rooms, good location!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
James
03/27/2024
The rooms were very nice, the exterior looks dated but the rooms are new inside
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Francois
03/27/2024
Way overpriced. Terrible road noise and poor windows and door make for sleepless night. Mold on the ceiling and very humid in the room. Pictures on the website are misleading. This is a two star motel. I don’t recommend at all. What a waste of money
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Paul
03/27/2024
It was a great location and the staff was very friendly and helpful
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
hiram
03/24/2024
liked the quietness in the back by the beach like yard. i just didn't like it wasn't a swim beach, but you're able to get your feet wet and relax.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Suzana
03/24/2024
Excellent location
Lovely location. Facilities are fine but would be superb with a little touch ups here and there.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
MARTY
03/17/2024
Quaint, older property that has been well maintained.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Margaret
03/15/2024
Not a well kept up place.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Amir
03/08/2024
While I only stayed one night I would stay again.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Caitlin
03/08/2024
The free bikes and kayaks were great for getting around town! Very quiet nice get away. So peaceful and very nice staff
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Victor
02/20/2024
The room was excellent.. Very clean .. Everything is easy to walk to..
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Ryan
02/20/2024
Had a great time can’t wait to come back
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Allison
02/19/2024
Friendly staff, clean, and updated, but the rooms and property need some upkeep.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Sarah
02/19/2024
Beautiful beach with ewsy acdess to the beach
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Alissa
02/17/2024
Third time staying at this property and it just keeps getting better and better! We will be seeing you again next year 😃
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
PS
02/17/2024
This was enjoyable for our one night stay. Quick, easy check-in. Beautiful, large room - ground level unit K. There were many cars and we saw other guests but didn't hear any noise from neighbors. Although the road noise was very noticable while sleeping. A quick walk across the street to the Islmadora Brewing Company was a great way to relax and enjoy a flight of beer and cocktails on their back patio: the frozen key limei cocktail was wonderful. We also took advantage of the kayaks and paddle boards for a morning paddle on the calm bay.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Eric
02/16/2024
Smooth check in. Nice property. Buildings are typical older Key West but have been nicely updated. Our room has a great view of the Gulf. Wish it had a deck instead of just sliding glass doors that are permanently shut.. Property grounds are very nice with a new dock.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Chris
02/15/2024
Great location, staff was awesome Will definitely come back
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Ryan
02/14/2024
Outstanding gem in Islamorada!
Our stay at La Jolla Resort was fantastic. The rooms are really nicely updated and have outstanding mattresses. The location is awesome for anyone who enjoys Islamorada Brewery and Distillery as it's right across the road. We often felt like we had the place to ourselves. The staff was helpful and friendly. We would not hesitate to stay here again in the future!
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Becky
02/11/2024
Good not great
Cute comfortable hotel. Pool was small and cold.
2/5
Hotels.com verified review
Annette
02/03/2024
Disappointed in service
Stayed one night ..no tv service….a helpful worker spent a lot of time trying to fix..but Comcast needed to come out the next day….but we where checking out that morning…so we had no tv on our stay…it was cold so had to stay inside at night…was a long night without tv. Left a message for the manager who wasn’t there to make an adjust on our bill…secretary said she would tell the manager…no response so far
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Michael
02/02/2024
Property is clean, staff is wonderful. Shower is very small and the road noise kept us up all night, a lot of trucks traveling at night.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Robert
01/26/2024
This property is being completely renovated. It will get better and better!! The bikes are great as are the free kayaks. The don't offer breakfast BUT Midway Cafe is right down the street and it is the best!!!!
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Barbara
01/24/2024
Thaw out vacation
I enjoyed staying at La Jolla. Similar to what my family would stay at when I was a child. The room was comfortable and clean.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
DeWain
01/23/2024
Feeling ripped off!
I would like to say that the room was clean, however given the condition and how chopped up the room was, certainly is way off base for the nightly rates that they charge! Broken glass in office entry, stairs to climb, and a room that had ceiling so low that I felt I had to duck. 2 steps up to enter the bathroom! Shower was nicely tiled. But this was ridiculous rate of 289. Per night. Never again!
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Christy
01/09/2024
Great location. Clean and everything you need. Wish we stayed longer.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jesse
01/08/2024
Very nice and easy to deal with
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Cassandra
01/07/2024
Older buildings; however, once you walked behind the office, the location is amazing! Our passwords didn’t work, had to go ask twice for the new password. Attention to detail… Both receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Comfortable beds; nicely appointed and comfortable. The showers were plumbed backwards, so took two cold showers. Overall, it came down to LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Brian
12/31/2023
We love this property. This is the 4th time we have stayed and it never disappoints.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jayne
12/24/2023
Location is great. Walking distance to brewery, Mangrove Mikes and Lorelei. Everyone is friendly. Cat on site. No place to put your toiletries. No tvs in bedrooms. Plenty of towels. Low water pressure.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Mary Olivia
12/08/2023
Loved the La Jolla! Cannot wait to come back!
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Matthew
12/06/2023
Very cozy remolded motel
Very nice little place!
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Linda
12/05/2023
The water was beautiful & calm. Nothing fancy, but clean & simple like style.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Spahr
11/29/2023
Nice update of a classic roadside motel. Tree lined property, updated room with plenty of space. Simple, modern design accents. Plenty of parking, bay side sandy beach with hammocks, chairs, etc. Kayaks and other water sport accessories available.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Dmitry
11/23/2023
Nice place and also there's a awesome friendly cat on property
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
James
11/22/2023
Nice comfortable resort with good amenities
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Amy
11/13/2023
This resort is the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of the keys. Extremely clean, quiet, amazing staff!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Kathie
11/09/2023
Views were amazing! Free use of kayak and paddle boards.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Donna
11/05/2023
At first I was hesitant, but it was only one, night. It was surprisingly comfy and clean, with everything we needed! Pool is small and near the highway, so not very quiet. But the kayaks are complimentary and I'm sorry we had no time to do! It was so convenient o seeing Islamorada's beauty!
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Laura
11/02/2023
Good
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Gordon
11/01/2023
Wonderful place to stay
The whole experience was very good, the staff were professional and friendly, nothing was too much trouble; and they were very helpful with recommending places to see and eat.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Andrew
10/29/2023
Soak it up....
Nice, cool lodge, but the beautiful location on Florida Bay is the real prize here. Why go out when youve got this view on your doorstep? Best seats in the house!!
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Nikolas
10/22/2023
Big beach area. I stayed in the cheapo above lobby room. It was fine. New. Little noise. Farcenough away from road to be quiet.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
GREG
10/20/2023
The location was perfect!! The staff was amazing. Our only complaints were that the front units have a lot of road noise and the bathroom sink is beyond too small.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Kathy
10/17/2023
Not very accommodating for a 75 and 77 year old. Ask for early check-in because we had a flight late in the night and hadn't slept at all.The first person said an hour or two then went back and said I had to wait again when they were definitely not busy. I was actually crying outside from lack of sleep. My husband then went in was treated very rudely. They were all holed up in the office instead of cleaning rooms
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Verified traveler
10/17/2023
This was our second stay at La Jolla. Such an cute hotel in a great location! Within walking distance to popular restaurants and bars! The grounds are beautifully kept with amazing water views. Access to kayaks and bikes are a bonus! The rooms are cozy and clean. The mattress in room V above the lobby was a bit hard and uncomfortable but aside from that we had a wonderful stay.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Erin
10/15/2023
Rooms are clean and updated. Nice to have access to kayaks.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Brent
10/15/2023
Nice little place for the money. Friendly staff. Rooms are updated and clean.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jayne
10/13/2023
Cute 20 room property on the gulf. Rooms are good sized and well equipped. Housekeeping came daily and swapped towel and emptied garbage. Bed in unit Q is the worst bed we ever slept in. So hard, noisy and sloped in the middle. Ended up sleeping on the sofa our last night. Other than the bed we would highly recommend La Jolla to all travelers
1/5
Expedia Group verified review
Myrlande
10/08/2023
They staff was not polite and being rude
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
laurie
10/01/2023
Absolutely loved everything about our stay at La Jolla. Especially the upgrade, staff, beach, bikes, etc.....
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Yaminou
09/28/2023
The only good thing about the hotel is the beach; however I made the mistake to book for 2 nights. My room was right off the overseas highway. It was the noisiest 2 days of my life. Couldn’t sleep all night. You wouldn’t offer a room like that when you know it’s that noisy.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Malgorzata
09/26/2023
Clean and well organized motel. The beach was beautiful. We could stay there again.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Wes
09/25/2023
Very nice
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Mary
09/24/2023
Clean, spacious rooms! Great staff and location.
4/5 Good
Hotels.com verified review
Gael
09/19/2023
Hidden gem
Very nice room- newly renovated. Very comfortable bedding. Loved being able to see the sunset from the site
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Marcos
09/11/2023
Everything good except the mattress in the room, very old and uncomfortable mattress.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
lori
09/09/2023
We had a great relaxing time here, the marina and docks are a great plus for this place. Nice and quiet at the shoreline with free paddle boards and Kayaks, if you have a small boat you can ramp it free north a little ways and dock it at the hotel. Hose and fish cleaning stations are available. As far as our room it was huge with a small kitchen area with available utensils, dishes and drinkware, however our Keurig coffee maker only made a half cup of coffee lol, good thing I travel with my own. Our own complaint really is the street noise which is 24 hrs a day, so ask for a room closer to the docks though you may pay more per night. Ice is available for $3 a 7lb bag, if you need more than that you can walk to a machine south across the street for $3 for 13lbs. Take note that despite what their web page says there is no breakfast or coffee available except coffee pods in your room. They have bikes, and a nice small pool with chair towels available at the office. The staff was very nice.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Jack
09/08/2023
We loved our stay at La Jolla and enjoyed paddle boarding there. Rooms were updated.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Hernan
08/28/2023
Very peaceful and relax. Your room was perfect for me and my wife. Nice location.
3/5
Hotels.com verified review
Robert
08/27/2023
Ok little place.
It's a nice little spot in a good location. Not much to speak of in terms of amenities, but it's good for a one night stay. Room was nice and had a great view.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Danielle
08/22/2023
The property was beautiful and quaint. The pool was nice and the views of the water were beautiful. We loved all of the options we had to do there, lounge by the water, use the kayaks, the hammocks were great. The room was very nice and clean and it smelled great. The location was great and close to a lot of restaurants and shops, even though the construction in the area made it hard to get in and out of the parking lot. We had a good time here. Our only complaints were that the bed was hard and lumpy, the water pressure was really weak, and our room had a major sugar ant problem. We couldn't leave any food on the counter because it was attacked by a ton of sugar ants. Also, when we opened up the sofa bed for the kids to sleep on, the linens were still on it from the last guests and there was a dirty towel with a bunched up sheet in the bed. There weren't any extra linens and there wasn't an extra blanket for the sofa bed either. Luckily my kids brought their own blankets and we made it work because the office was closed by this time.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Stephen
08/08/2023
Very nice getaway spot for me and my family. Clean and perfectly located
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Steven
08/06/2023
Great location next to the water. Only reason for 4 stars is that the bathroom was extremely small - no counter space and the toilet had a wall in front so close that you had to sit sideways to use the toilet.
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Steven
07/25/2023
Whatever cleaning solution is used in the room caused my wife’s eyes to become irritated. No tissues in the room. Only one small mirror in the bathroom. The mattress was uncomfortable; sagging heavily toward the sides. On a positive note, the black and white cat was very friendly!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Patrice
07/18/2023
Room was nice and spacious. Would definitely stay here again!
3/5
Expedia Group verified review
Nichole
07/10/2023
Room was very hot even with the air all the way down. We bought a small fan and finally told them about it and they did offer another small fan. Very little water pressure in the shower. Spoke to office and they gave us a new shower head to try and when we finally were able to find a wrench to put it on, it was good. Staff was very nice and helpful.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Gerardo
07/09/2023
Diamond in a rough!
The place is great! Secluded, peaceful, convenient and good price! All of the 20 rooms have a different layout. Studios and One bedrooms are renovated with a fresh island look with pastel colors and super clean! It looks like if they just opened yesterday! At front desk there is a 3 people staff with Kadisha, Mike and Jesus that will make you feel welcome at any given time. Free parking, reception 8 am to 8 pm opened, bicycles and kayaks to use them from sunrise to dusk as well a small pool, beach area with hammocks, lounge chairs, grills and huts for picnic. Definitely deserves a 10 out of 10. Remember reviews are very subjective and only reflect the way of traveling of the person who stayed at the place reviewed. I been traveling for more than 50 years and visited the 5 continents and over 40 countries. So, you can take my review as a good one.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Richard
07/09/2023
Great property
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Timothy
07/05/2023
Great low key place.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Ryan
07/03/2023
Second Stay
This was our second stay at La Jolla Resort. We again loved this property and its location. Staff was friendly and explained about the property and surrounding area. The room was clean, although the mattress was a little firm. We will definitely stay here again!
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Robin
07/01/2023
Keys motel
Just a nice small motel, the Keys experience, with a priceless sunset view.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
William
06/24/2023
This would be a great place to snorkel. Water was clear and you could see the fish!
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Timothy
06/24/2023
Property and rooms were very nice, staff was great. Nice waterfront view
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
erina
06/24/2023
great stay manager was amazing and accommodating will be back
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
damian
06/19/2023
This is my third time at this property, and always feel at home while there. Great property and staff, Thank you
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Lauren
06/16/2023
Clean property, beautifully updated rooms. Very nice staff.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Thomas
06/13/2023
Excellent restoration job done on these old units.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Dana
06/06/2023
This property is a hidden gem in Islamorada! Beautiful and clean rooms with the comfiest bed ,cute little pool that is refreshing and the whole place is surrounded by trees all so green, definitely gives a resort atmosphere, plus you’ve got gorgeous sunsets as a bonus. Me and my husband, we loved staying there. Is super relaxing lounging by the water, and we did appreciate the outdoor grill which has everything you need. The staff is professional and really helpful,for instance if you need to see a room before checking in, they’ll gladly show it. Is our second time coming here and definitely not last. Mike took care of us, he is the most welcoming and awesome guy,check in with him is a breeze. Highly recommend to vacation at La Jolla, my favorite spot in Florida keys
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Mario
06/05/2023
Most everything at La Jolla was pleasant; however, certain parts of the room could have been improved. The toilet paper holder was falling out of the wall when I arrived. Also, the mattress on the bed was not the most comfortable. I think that the boxspring was broken underneath.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Rebecca
06/05/2023
Bay side view and the sunset was amazing. Use their kayaks, hammocks, grill, games etc... Some guests were playing cornhole at 8am (not cool) but other than that we enjoyed our stay and recommend this Keys style "hotel"!
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
ALEJANDRA
06/04/2023
Tranquilidad y belleza
Hermoso lugar, tranquilo y si te gusta el agua perfecto para deportes náuticos.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
MICHAEL
06/04/2023
Very nice and clean
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Sabine
06/01/2023
the beach at property was a dream
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jose
05/29/2023
Convenient location, will stay again.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Cheryl
05/28/2023
Elena was very helpful and accommodating upon checki-in. Beds / pillows were not the most comfortable, however, the private beach and grounds were very nice.
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Jack
05/25/2023
Great property. Old style Florida renovated motel. Nice waterside setting and spectacular sunsets!
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Margaurita
05/24/2023
Front office was excellent! Very nice and thoughtful! Would highly recommend to friends and family.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
michele
05/22/2023
Keys vacation
Cute , retro Keys Motel. Plenty of places to sit by the water, small pool, buildings and neon sign out front give it a retro feel. Staff from Jamaica are all wonderful.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Svetlana
05/20/2023
Beautiful all around!
Beautiful place , very mellow, very authentic Amazing stuff. Boat docks are available. We really enjoyed our stay! Try to get a view room :)
2/5
Expedia Group verified review
Derek
05/07/2023
Our AC quit working, asked 3 times to have it fixed and received no response. Our toilet was broke and leaking, no hot water in the shower. Way over priced for what you get especially with all the issues
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Abbey
05/05/2023
Bright spacious room. Water front is very nice. Staff isnt on location 24/7 but it is small report and they dont need to be. Easy access to area attractions. Will come back
5/5 Excellent
Expedia Group verified review
Mark
05/04/2023
Good location. Clean.
4/5 Good
Expedia Group verified review
Robert
05/02/2023
Quiet and older resort, the waterfront units have a very great sunset view. Definitely lacks amenities but would be great for a quiet and relaxing stay if that’s what you are looking for.
5/5 Excellent
Hotels.com verified review
Gary
05/02/2023
Our new secret place.
We loved this property! It’s definitely not a resort. But it’s also not a cheesy motel. It’s not brand new. But it’s super clean. And the common area around the water is a great place to hang out. We sat on the dock the first night we were there. And a 6 foot nurse shark swam right under our feet. Amazing! Check in was easy and friendly. Definitely a place to check out.